We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Weekend Get-away”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lonelobst...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
762 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Get-away”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just a couple hours from Vancouver, this is the ideal spot for a quiet relaxing getaway. We ( family of six) stayed in the cottage which is right on the water. ( the house is separate and is just above the cottage). Sitting on the beach, we had great views looking west and south west and could watch the cruise ships go by in the distance and watch the sun go down. Lots of space to park up to three cars. I could leave my kayak on the shore and it was totally safe. The Cottage had all the amenities we could ask for. Lots of condiments in the kitchen, fast wifi, TV ( which was never used). The cottage is actually a log house that has been added on to so it has a rustic feel, which is a nice change pace. At low tide, you can walk a long ways down the beach. A couple of parks with hiking trails are only a few minutes drive away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie S
1 review
“Great place and great location!”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great time at Halfmoon Haven. We stayed in the main house and found it to be very comfortable with lots of room for the six of us. Loved the fireplace in the living room. The main bedroom was awesome with a magnificent view of Welcome Beach. The kitchen had all the amenities and was an open concept so you could glimpse the channel and sky even working in the kitchen. The balcony off the dining and living room had a view of the working channel seeing all kinds of boats and barges up and down the strait. We loved the hot tub in the evening and morning and some of us had massages with Jenn an experienced Lomi Lomi masseuse. She and Chris are friendly outgoing folk who looked after us well.

The beach is very private with only a few other locals on it when we walked the sand. As I am a birder I enjoyed seeing the eagles, oystercatchers, and shore birds. Lots to see. Smuggler's Cove and other great hiking spots are not far away by car.

The best part for many was the fascinating view of the working channel and the fact that the beach was only a few steps away. It felt like we were away for a week not just a few days. Loved it!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea P
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girls Getaway!”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Me and a bunch of my girlfriends wanted to have a little getaway in the sunshine coast. Me being from Toronto and the other girls from Vancouver
It was simple to book and Chris was awesome with helping with everything.
There was 8 of us and we all slept comfortably - lots of beds and rooms. The kitchen was great nice a big for all of us, and a private beach was awesome! it rained a little when we were there, but it was still a lot of fun, nice fire going inside and out (when the sun came out)
We were in the hot tub quite a bit and had the best view ever!
We felt like we were on our own the whole time..it was a really fabulous weekend!

We may be making this an annual thing!
Highly Recommended

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpersuc...
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Hotflashers at Halfmoon”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Perfect are a weekend with friends. Quiet, private, comfortable, not too fancy. Amazing views and beach. Easy beach walk as far as you wanted to go. Great hottub. Accommodating friendly hosts. Well stocked kitchen. Lots of blankets. Friendly kitty cat. 3 hours total from Vancouver.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfortable family feel
Liked least: Beds were too firm for me personally
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Welcome Beach is a big highlight and reason why Halfmoon Haven is so popular with families and guest who love to walk out to their very own beach just steps away from the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl L
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay, beautiful sights.”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

A group of 14 of us rented both the deluxe suite and beach cottage properties for the long weekend last month. Booking the place and planning for the trip was super easy. Chris was very good at replying emails and returning calls before we checked in. The deluxe suite offered a spacious living room that could allow all 14 of us to eat together in the same area. The kitchen in the deluxe suite was also fully equipped so that we could conveniently cook all of our meals. We were definitely impressed by how spacious the deluxe suite was. Both properties were literally just several feet away from the beach and water. It was some of the most beautiful sights we had ever experienced.

Our only concerns were some spider webs around the ceiling in the deluxe suite, a BBQ that wouldn't light up (there was another BBQ at the beach cottage that did work), and a strong "natural plant-like" smell coming from outside..

All in all, I would definitely recommend Halfmoon Haven to my friends and will return if we ever get to visit Halfmoon Bay again. Thank you Chris and Jenn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and surrounding sights.
Liked least: Cleanliness could have been better.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Halfmoon Haven can cater to large of small groups as we have two main rental units can accommodate groups of 10-15 adults as well as we have an amazing 800 sq ft. guest service building called a Yurt available for weddings and gatherings of all kind.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing