We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ambary House - Lovely House”
other travellers have booked this property
The Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pool
Ambary House features semi open and spacious space, traditional architecture, large pool and library The Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
The Pool
Ambary House features semi open and spacious space, traditional architecture, large pool and library
The Pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
The Pool
The Pool
A horse cart, a main transport mode on Gili Trawangan, passes in front of Ambary House under morning light
The Pool
The Pool
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
The Pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
The Pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
The Pool
Rooms overlooking pool, spa jacuzzi
The Pool
The Pool
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
Living Room
The Pool
Living Room
Living Room
Open airy living room overlooking swimming pool
Living Room
The Pool
Living Room
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
Living Room
The Pool
Dining Room
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
Dining Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
The 1st Bedroom
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Kitchen
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Dining Room
The 1st Bedroom
Many of the island's best bars and restaurants are within 3 minutes walking distance from Ambary
The 1st Bedroom
Dining Room
1st Bathroom
Dining Room
1st Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Dining Room
2nd Bathroom
1st Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Beaches near Ambary House. Gili Trawangan is a major diving and snorkelling site.
2nd Bathroom
The 2nd Bedroom
1st Bathroom
2nd Bathroom
Kitchen
Terrace
Dining Room
Terrace
1st Bathroom
Terrace
Beaches near Ambary House. Gili Trawangan is a major diving and snorkelling site.
Terrace
The 2nd Bedroom
The 2nd Bedroom
Entrance
Dining Room
Entrance
Street
The 2nd Bedroom
Street
Ambary House's distinct roof symbolises the shape of the sacred mountain where the gods reside.
The 2nd Bedroom
Front view of Ambary House with its beautiful architecture. The roof symbolises the sacred mountain
The 2nd Bedroom
Front view of Ambary House with its beautiful architecture. The roof symbolises the sacred mountain
The 2nd Bedroom
Front view of Ambary House with its beautiful architecture. The roof symbolises the sacred mountain
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Air-conditioned bedrooms feature double bed, tables, chairs, a wardrobe and safe deposit box.
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
Relaxing swimming pool fitted with a jacuzzi and a reading corner next to the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands, Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
Allan M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not meeting its potential”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay at Ambary House gave us mixed feelings? Email communication via Trip Advisor was prompt and booking was easy. On our arrival at the villa we were met by the staff (3 local boys) who took us through to our accomodation. On settling in we immediately noticed that the bedrooms and kitchen areas had trails of ants as well the floors needed cleaning. On speaking to the boys they immediately obliged and sprayed, cleaned the rooms for us apologising for not doing this prior to our arrival. Although we enjoyed our stay at this lovely villa, we found that the boys just seemed to lack a professional level of hospitality training and competence, probably not their fault as they appeared to be just likable happy local lads who were happy to do things "as they were asked" without showing an inclination to anticipate basic needs such as clean linen (no change during our 8 night stay), we also had to request clean towels regularly. In saying this the boys were happy, friendly and courteous, I would think that given some proper hospitality traing would allow Ambary House to reach its full potential.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2015
Many thanks for your review. We are sorry for the troubles and are addressing the issues raised in your review very seriously and taking measures to prevent those things from happening again.
Best regards
Management
Ambary House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christell...
1 review
“Ambary House - Lovely House”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My friend and I stayed at Ambary House for 3 nights. We had a lovely stay. The house is amazing, with ponds every where, even where you would not expect it. It is very close to the main street with the bars and restaurants and the staff is very friendly and helpful. I recommend Ambary House. Christelle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazac117
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome villa”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

-The location of the villa is perfect: its close to the 'main' street, but not too close, so you can sleep. The villa looks amazing, the pool is perfect, gets a lot of sunlight during the day. The bathrooms are also very cool, with little fishponds in it. The house owner and the staff were very helpful, the guys did a spectacular job with everything we needed. I would stay here again for sure!!

- The wifi is not the best, but on an island like this you wouldn't need it anyways.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The Wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali0807
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This Villa has the potential to be really lovely but unfortunately didn't hit the mark:

Issues: Lots of ants and mosquitos; very poor wifi; the staff do not take initiative in terms of cleaning the villa. They needed to be asked many times - floors and surfaces were not mopped regularly; nothing felt clean. Towels were not offered to be changed once during our 7 nights - we had to instigate every basic request e.g. taking left over food away, emptying bins. It was as if the staff had not been trained properly. When we asked them to do things they were obliging but it was quite exhausting to have to chase every small request when the idea with a villa like this is to switch off and relax. The uneven surface in the bathroom, which fills with water, is annoying and unsafe. There is not even a kettle to boil water. The pool is nice and it is close to lots of restaurants and it is peaceful. For the price, if you are expecting good service, it would be better to stay in a hotel.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
Many thanks for your review Ali0807. We highly value feedback from our guests. Many of the achievements of the villa stemmed from improvements following suggestions and reviews by our former guests.
We also do apologize for our shortcomings and are doing our best to address any issues raised by our guests. However, this is the third review containing largely the same issues from the same group of 8 people, including 4 children, staying at the same time at the same property our 2-bedroom villa. The other reviews are from KL and D0ug1969.
Let us clarify some of the issues raised by Ali0807, largely repeating our previous responses.
1. Your review : ; the staff do not take initiative in terms of cleaning the villa …..
Our response : Your partner wrote the following in an email sent to me on Dec. 14 : “We are enjoying Gili and Ambary house very much.” In Dec. 17 he wrote:“Your guys are great and our wives are getting them whipped into shape re keeping this place ship shape in spite of our girls best messiest efforts. Have a good day n hopefully catch you when next in Indonesia.” In another email dated Dec. 16 he wrote: “The guys have been lovely by the way. Have a good evening.”
2. Your review : There is not even a kettle to boil water.
Our response : Guests can easily see there is a water dispenser at the living room next to the refrigerator, providing hot water at any time without the need to boil it. You and your group used the water dispenser quite often during the course of your one week stay in the villa, making hot milk, tea as well as coffee. We, however, would provide one should our guests need it despite the fact that there is already a water dispenser which provides hot water anytime without the need to boil it.
3. Your review : The uneven surface in the bathroom, which fills with water, is annoying and unsafe.
Our response : We are very sorry if you found the surface annoying. As for the safety of our guests, that is our top priority right from the design stage of the villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D0ug1969
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Close but no cigar”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Ambary House for a week just before Christmas with our two daughters and another family, also with two daughters. Whilst there are many positives about this villa our experience wasn't quite as good as many of the other reviewers here. The reason for this, I think, is that the owner was out of town on business.
Ok, first the positives - the location is perfect, close to all the action but far enough away to be very peaceful. The size and layout are good as are the pool and the cinema screen.The big communal area is lovely as are the bedrooms.
The negatives for us were that the staff, lovely though they were, were utterly clueless as to basic cleanliness of the villa. Had the owner been present they may well have kept things a bit more ship shape but as it was we were returning after a day out to find breakfast dishes still there and ants all over. General upkeep was way below other villa experiences in Bali and Thailand. Breakfast pretty underwhelming - shame to drink nescafe in country of coffee. The bathroom is quirky with the internal fish ponds providing perfect mosquito breeding territory and I didn't like the uneven floor surface in the bathroom or at the main entrance and round the pool - not suitable for small children or infirm. And the wifi was practically nonexistent, contrary to how it was advertised.
A little about Gili Trawangan - it's a pretty little island with ok beaches but some wonderful snorkelling, busy on east coast, dead on the west. Can circumnavigate by bicycle in under an hour. It is a party place and probably not ideal for families plus the transfer from Lombok airport to Gili is a schlep. Good for a break for travellers on Bali or Lombok but perhaps not as a destination in itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: upkeep
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2014
Many thanks for your review and I would be taking them very seriously to improve our services. Unfortunately, it is sad to say that your review is misleading at best. I would like to list some of them here:
1. Your review: “The bathroom is quirky with the internal fish ponds providing perfect mosquito breeding territory.”
Our response: This is the first time that we have had a review from a guest saying the fish ponds provide a “perfect mosquito breeding territory.” The word “perfect” is truly surprising and your comment seems to us here like contradictio in terminis. The fish are there to prevent mosquitos from breeding, certainly not the other way around, in addition to providing a zen-like atmosphere of peace. It’s really surprising to see such a comment from people like you who said that you have been in Southeast Asia region for so many years. Our bathroom is one among the features liked most by our guests as you can see from reviews about the property, especially the fish ponds in the bathroom.
2. Your review: The negatives for us were that the staff, lovely though they were, were utterly clueless as to basic cleanliness of the villa.
Our response: This contradicts your own comments sent to me in a series of emails during your stay at the villa. Herewith a quote from an email which you sent to me on Dec. 17 saying :“Your guys are great and our wives are getting them whipped into shape re keeping this place ship shape in spite of our girls best messiest efforts. Have a good day n hopefully catch you when next in Indonesia.” In another email dated Dec. 16 you wrote: “The guys have been lovely by the way. Have a good evening.”
3. Your review: “As it was we were returning after a day out to find breakfast dishes still there and ants all over.”
Our response: This was really misleading and fabricated. The cleaning was done at least twice a day, that is our standard procedure and that’s why we have had earned very high remarks for cleanliness from most of our guests not just on tripadvisor but also on other websites as well. Most of the time, all our 4 staff were cleaning the plates and the tables while you and other guests were still there at the villa, in front of your eyes, before you headed to the beach or did other activities outside the villa. The staff then cleaned the bedrooms when you were away. The staff did this again at around 7 pm every night per your request when you mostly were having dinner outside, cleaning the villa including the bedroom so that when you got back, everything was in a good shape. The staff did all this cleaning during your stay at the villa in addition to other cleanings needed because of the presence of 4 young girls that in your own words were needed to deal with "our girls best messiest efforts.
4. Your review: “Breakfast pretty underwhelming - shame to drink nescafe in country of coffee.”
Our response: I am very sorry for the “pretty underwhelming food” but I am sorry to say also that as a matter of fact, you were our most demanding guests ever relative to the room rate you paid in a low tourist season. Still, we were striving to offer our best services to your group of 8 people staying in two bedrooms. The portion of the food per person requested by you was way above our normal level. Still, we were not charging anything more despite the demand. You often told the staff that the breakfast was in your own words “excellent” or “fantastic.”
5. We are sorry that we were not able to meet some of your demand as these were not included in our policy. The staff had refused to provide free lunch demanded by this group of 8 people during their stay as this is clearly not part of the package and that meeting such demand would be really costly relative to the room rate. Our policy is that we only provide free breakfast, not not lunch nor dinner. We did provide free fried rice (nasi goreng) for dinner for the group at one time as requested by one of the group’s members. We also provided extra food and drink in the evening including special full moon pancake, fresh coconut drink and others subject to availability in a bid to serve our guests but these are all extras, not part of the package. We are very sorry again for our inability to meeting some of your demand.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing