We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting old fort”
Review of Forte di Fuentes

Forte di Fuentes
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Colico
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Forte Fuentes built in 1603 by Count Pedro Enriquez de Acevedo, Count of Fuentes, is a Spanish fort crossroads of countless passages of troops from Spain, France, Austria. It overlooks the beautiful reserve of Pian di Spagna. CLOSED FROM NOVEMBER, 4, TO EASTER IN THE OTHER MONTHS THE FORTRESS OPENS SATURDAY, SUNDAY and ALL THE HOLIDAYS (July and August every day)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This fort is worth a visit if you're in the area. It has great views from the fort along the valleys.

Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1969Marx, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Forte di Fuentes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Dear Guest, We thank you for your review. We hope that you return at Forte Fuentes for the guided tours of the next summer! Have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

7 - 11 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2015

well worth seeing, very interesting. the fort was the head of the spanish area here and overlooks the Pian di Spagna. nearby fort of montecchio is also well worth a visit. there is also a nice walk around which takes in both walks

Thank cavallapazzalivigno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1969Marx, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Forte di Fuentes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2015

Thank you for your helpful vote and for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went with kids who enjoyed the outdoors hiking (we started from colico lido and walked along the ciclabile). Interesting the historical background of this place.
Needs a bit more upkeep and possibly a guided tour.

Thank Cosmopolitan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrpForteMontecchio, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Forte di Fuentes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for your review, dear Guest. See you soon. At June 2nd-3rd big reenactment at Montecchio's Fortress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We liked this very much! It was closed when we got there, but since we went the wrong way up, we could get on the terrain anyway. We thought it's like the coolest site for live role-playing ever. Quite big and with many different interesting parts like the church and the parts from the world war 1... Quite the nice view of the mountains and the Como lake.

1  Thank Karinle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrpForteMontecchio, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Forte di Fuentes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Yeah, of course. For Live role play but also for real History seeing. Return to visit us. You will enjoy it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Although most of what must have been a magnificent fort is now derelict there is enough left to offer a glimpse into the checkered history of this strategic area of Italy. Built for the Spanish Governor of Milan in the 17th C (hence the Spanish name if Italy) this fort was witness to some epic times until its sad demise at the hands of Napoleonic troops. There are sign boards throughout the complex to assist with understanding the buildings and in the summer I believe there are guided tours although as I visited in the middle of winter I undertook a self-guided tour!

1  Thank Somerferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UrpForteMontecchio, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Forte di Fuentes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Historic Gem? We like it! Thank you and...return to visit us as soon as possible!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forte di Fuentes also viewed

 

Been to Forte di Fuentes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing