We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
37
62
24
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
62
24
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

This must have been a spectacular hotel fifty years ago but it needs some TLC. Air conditioning did not work during our stay. The rooms are large and grounds could be beautiful with more care. Location is remote and food was only adequate. It is a shame the facility is not better maintained. Beautiful period furnishings and it has a grand look to it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank OldGuy319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I'm an international tour leader, taking groups all over the world for holidays and vacations, and I can't say enough good things about this place. I rarely write reviews, but I was so blown away by the service of the hotel staff. From the reception, to food and bev. To the GM carrying our bags, this place is not to be missed. Beautiful location, historic rooms, and 5 star service. Truly an honour to be a guest here.
Thanks.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank officialtourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We came across this gem of a place while touring on Motorbikes. We were made very welcome by friendly staff, even got a room upgrade as we'd travelled so far! Room was superb, bar & restaurant excellent! The whole place has a manor house feel, and the huge tapestries and paintings are amazing. Decor is all in keeping with the age of the place but wifi works well and facilities are immaculate. Can't recommend highly enough to anyone else touring..Loved it and hope to return.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour. It was the site of my 60th Birthday and the staff went out of their way to make the evening memorable. In fact, they baked a cake and served it to us and our other tour comrades, 6 in all. Nice Bar great atmosphere.
But the bed was awful! The mattress must have been as old as the house and too small for a double room! I'd certainly go back, but the bed and mattress will be inspected first!

Room Tip: Check out the size and quality of the bed/mattress.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We are English couple who booked a weekend at the Hotel for San Martinho. From making the reservation to leaving the staff were very helpful and everything went smoothly. We don't speak much Portuguese and got lost English route to the hotel but the lady at reception guided us in by phone. The building is lovely with lots of charm and character. Everything was very clean and we were very surprised that the Wi-Fi was excellent throughout the house and free. At reception there is a useful folder which has info on what to do in the area. We went to the bread museum and Santar, both well worth a visit. All in all a great visit, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were upgraded for free so it's worth asking if this is an option.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelahanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews