We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
13
32
18
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
32
18
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Be warned: they say they accept AMEX but they don't!!!

We asked for a Junior Suite. We got a small room with tiny bed, outdated furniture, they have a bar but lack staff.
It looks more like an old retirement house.

Very disappointed, will not be staying again!

Breakfast is far from acceptable.

In sum, it is a very low 3 star hotel

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Bernardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianoBarretoRamos, General Manager at Grande Hotel das Caldas da Felgueira, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

We appoligize for the inconvenience os the AMEX card. We did'n realize that when we changed the terminal we need to have a new contract with AMEX.
Some of our rooms are still not refurbished. We are doing it step by step. All the social areas and most of the rooms ares already up to date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Very quiet place, very large swimmingpool, nice service, large livingrooms. A nice spa hotel for all the family. The spa is very traditional but completly renewed, as well as the 3 stars hotel...Very nice for only 3 stars. In the neighbourhood mountains and nice portuguese food

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianoBarretoRamos, Manager at Grande Hotel das Caldas da Felgueira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Francisco Monteiro,
Thank you very much for your review. We try to do our best to welcome our guests, and we are very glad that you enjoyed the Grande Hotel & SPA experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The food was excellent for a three star hotel however our stay was marred by the air conditioning having failed during the week when we stayed and temperatures soared to the high 30s and low 40s. The hotel gave us a fan to put in the room but it really didn't help much as the room got like an oven during the day. Proximity to the river meant we couldn't leave any windows open at night or we would have been devoured by mosquitos.

The room required redecoration (peeling paint) and the bathroom was in a sorry state, the legs of the bathroom stool were rusty and the bathroom cabinet was falling apart with the back almost off and nails sticking out.

Unusually despite the fact that my wife is handicapped they made a service charge for breakfast in the room making no allowance for the discomfort caused by the failure of the air conditioning and that despite the hotel being almost empty while we were there. Having said that the staff did try to be helpful.

The handicapped parking space is in full sun all the afternoon without any shade and the wheelchair ramp which is so steep that we needed assistance to use it is on the wrong side of the entrance.

Access to the large pool is very poor and for the handicapped very difficult.

Anyway we like the place because of it's proximity to the spa and may well go again hoping that they have fixed the air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abriwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianoBarretoRamos, Manager at Grande Hotel das Caldas da Felgueira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Abriwin
I would like to thank you very much your review. As a matter of fact it led me to check up the room and change the stool and repair the cabinet.
I also want to apologize, again, for the malfunction of air conditionning. The central sistem had a seriously collapse and the repair took so much more time than our worst expectations.
This led us to correct the price of your room. We did it in your last night at the hotel, as we could not go back in time (when I was aware of the situation) and correct it daily . I am kindly asking you to check it, please.
Our building is from XIX century, so we have some problems other hotels might not have, as the acess to handicaped people at the Hotel swimingpool Our staff is willing to help and will always drive our guests to where they want to go. I apologize for the inconvenience.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Although classed as a three star hotel, we found this hotel deserved four stars. The hotel lived up to its name with comfortable rooms, a very pleasant lounge area and a superb dining room which had live entertainment during the evening. The food and service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We made use of the spa facilities and these were also very good. We didn't get to use the outdoor pool as we went early on in the season, but the hotel is situated in beautiful countryside and there are various places worth a visit, a car is a must.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianoBarretoRamos, Manager at Grande Hotel das Caldas da Felgueira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Susan F,
I would like to thank you for your review of our Hotel. We have many recently restored rooms, and others were restored some years ago. In 2010 the social areas of the hotel were refurbish and redecorate. We try to do each day better, Our guests deserve the best service!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

In spite of its 3 stars, it shouldn´t be ashamed of other 4 stars hotels which have the privilege of being located in big towns or in other places where tourism is a constant, neither having the handicap of being dependent of the thermalism season nor of being situated in a quite isolated region with few inhabitants. But there are numerous points of interest in the surroundings, only a few kilometers away. The Hotel das Caldas da Felgueira has a nice architecture and a certain charm (which is getting rare nowadays). It's very quiet and cosy, clean and confortable. The ladies at the reeception desk are extremely kind in their natural simpathy and allways willing to help. The ladies who clean and make the rooms are very helpful and the restaurant personel too. The hotel is only 50 meters away from the Thermal and SPA Facilities. These thermal facilities are suitable to treat respiratory health and the skeletic muscle system (reumathogy problems in general).

Some minor aspects related to the maintenance of a building with a certain age (but still worthy its pride) should deserve maybe a little more attention, as for instance some of the bathroom's accessories, a little worn-out (but clean...) As a whole, however, our room was very good, luminous, comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. Higher floors have less A/C unit noise and a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TripAdviser4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianoBarretoRamos, Manager at Grande Hotel das Caldas da Felgueira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear TripAdviser 4,
As General Manager of Caldas da Felgueira Termas & SPA, and also of The Grande Hotel, I would like to thank your review. We always try to do our best and guest feedback is very importante for us.
We are now making a tremendous effort on gardens and outside areas so they can be more atractive to our guests.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews