We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent preparation of finest seafood”
Review of De Gustibus

De Gustibus
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Palmi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Maurizio owner/chef and his lovely wife maintain an exceptional restaurant. My husband and I ate there in June 2017 and I returned a few weeks later with my cousin from Cosenza. The seafood, pasta, desserts are innovative and exceptionally well prepared, the presentation lovely, the service fine, and fish is freshest possible. This restaurant is known locally to be wonderful and is well worth a detour. It is Calabrian fine dining at its best. We will return whenever possible.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C8146VHjoans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

I have been yesterday for the first time there with my wife, I have lived in Palmi all my life and this is the first time I have found a restaurant comparable with the best in class worldwide.
Good quality and service, recipes delicious and good location.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sax1767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Excellent restaurant in Palmi, well worth a litlle detour if you're travelling around these parts. the service was excellent. we started with a tartare of fish, followed by pasta, a fish filet and a desert. everything was delicious, perftectly cooked, seasoned and delicate. the wine too was very good. a night to remember.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank renaudrodier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Fun and polight service, dishes were extremely tasty. Everything so genuine and fish so super fresh. A must-visit place for sure!

Probably one of the best cousin in Italy

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Simone F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Starved from an afternoon at sea, our party of three walked into the first restaurant we saw (supported by having read good reviews on Tripadvisor). Inside, 3 tables were taken with 8 guests in total. We had to wait over 5 minutes for the menu to be handed, the waiter forgot one out of three drinks, but we finished them and the bread long before we asked for the bill one hour after arrival without having had our food (three one course orders, including a simple tomato sauce pasta). During this time, the other tables got served several courses, including a second course and dessert for the neighboring table. Halfway through we asked if we should order an appetizer but the waiter said this wasn't necessary. Fifty minutes after arrival we asked the waiter how long our order would still take, as he answered us '5 minutes'. When after 10 it still hadn't arrived, we asked for the bill, twice… After which the chef came out to tell us in a raised voice that if we didn't have the patience to wait for our food we could leave. He added that we didn't make reservations and had only ordered one course but he had 'linen table cloths' on the table (with a spill of wine by the waiter), 'silver cutlery and crystal glasses'. Despite trying to explain that the staff had welcomed us without mentioning any necessity for reservations or multiple course orders (or any delay in service) and that we would just like to pay at this moment, chef Maurizio told us to leave his restaurant (drinks on him). It was a nightmare experience, unnecessary and totally avoidable.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
5  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Degustibus2001, Proprietario at De Gustibus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014
Google Translation

Non riusciamo a comprendere la Sua recensione.

M.S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Gustibus also viewed

Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
Bagnara Calabra, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
 

Been to De Gustibus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing