We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a restaurant”
Review of La Rosa dei Venti

La Rosa dei Venti
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Palmi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This is a wonderful family-run fish restaurant. It is very rare that I return to a restaurant when there are others available, but I ate here four times during my stay in Palmi. Twice with a group of friends for lunch and twice with my husband for dinner. The fish is absolutely fresh and cooked simply so it's full of flavour, the pastas are delicious, the fries some of the tastiest I've had, and the desserts rich and sublime. My husband said the house wine he had there was the best during his Calabrian visit. The hostess, Bozena, is charming and incredibly knowledgeable on the food she serves and the service is attentive and friendly.

In addition to fantastic food, there is a panoramic and spectacular view to enjoy during the meal.

This restaurant is rated No. 1 in Palmi and certainly deserves the accolade. It should be a must visit for anyone travelling through Palmi. I certainly intend to return when I visit Calabria again.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mkeynes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Italian food is all good, but sometimes there are places that astound. La Rosa dei Venti uses the freshest fish and seafood and does very little to it, as when the ingredients are superlative, minimal intervention is required. Do let yourself be advised by the competent staff and hostess: they know what has come in that day.
The view is poetry: immersed in the Mediterranean bush and looking out on the Tyrrhenian Sea, you can see the Aeolian Islands with Stomboli's volcano, maybe even the Aetna on a very clear, sunny day.
Let all your senses be delighted by this joy of a restaurant.
A suggestion: do avoid peak summer season. You will be had, anywhere in Italy.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mercantedivenezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

Amazing location, tasty food and nice people. We found that restaurant on the road and we got really surprised of the stunning landscape. So we decided to stop and eat something. Fresh fish brought to the table, all the detailes explained by the chef. We found that main courses were delicious, our "spaghetti vongole"
Good prices and perfect quality.
Greets from Poland! We'll surely come back.

Thank Maja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Seafood specialties with the freshest ingredients and a wonderful hostess. She even read out a poem by Ripaci on Calabria for us as we sipped our coffee. Breathtaking views of the wild Calabrian coast, with Sicily and the Aeolian islands misty in the distance. Magic atmosphere.

Date of visit: November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alessandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Palmi is the town where I grew up, and since I was a kid this restaurant - which opened in 1989 - has always been my family's favourite one. So, each time I come back to my hometown, I take the opportunity to go there for lunch or dinner, and each time it is a pleasant surprise to notice that not much has changed (in spite of a recent renovation which makes feel the place a bit 'fresher'): without any doubt you can find here the best fish in the surroundings of Palmi, and only very few other restaurants in Scilla and Bagnara may try to compete on quality, but neither on price, nor on the view. Regarding the latter, it is simply breathless: the restaurant lies on the sum of a cape in the Tyrrenian sea: two sides of the restaurant are surrounded by water, on the one hand Eoalian islands are the only thing different from sky and sea which can be seen (in the brightest days), while on the other one the southern Calabrian coast and Sicily are visible. On this second side there is an open terrace, on which it is very pleasant to eat in warm days and nights: however, if you prefer quiet, you should inquiry if there is any show going on in the local amphitheatre, which is located just below the terrace. Returning to the quality of food: it goes without saying that only fresh fish is available: this is so true that on some days the restaurant is closed, because on that morning local fishermen did not succeed in catching good fishes which could be served to customers on that day. Therefore, it is a good idea to call beforehand to check whether the restaurant is open. Also, the restaurant is generally closed on Fridays. Considering that dishes which may be ordered depend on the fish available, the menu is a bit of an optional: the chef (Michele, a guy about to turn 30 who recently took over from the father, a former chief cooks on ships who established the restaurant) or a member of his family (girlfriend, sister, and the lovely Polish mother who speaks an excellent Italian) will come to the table to list (and often show on a plate) the fish available and give some suggestions on how it could be cooked. As a closing remark: the hospitality of this family is amazing, they are more than happy to spend some time chatting with customers, and the service is perfect.

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 442antonior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rosa dei Venti also viewed

Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Bagnara Calabra, Province of Reggio Calabria
Palmi, Province of Reggio Calabria
 

Been to La Rosa dei Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing