We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$410
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Expedia.com
US$387
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Hotels.com
US$387
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
TravelocityUS$387
PricelineUS$410
Orbitz.comUS$387
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,633)
Filter reviews
1,633 results
Traveller rating
769
495
245
69
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
769
495
245
69
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment team main building olivia bar private pool pool bar olive trees evening entertainment panorama bar themed nights main pool local town beach shoes garden view entertainment area nearest town toasties bar staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 1,633 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

One week stay booked through Thomson holidays- paid extra for a room with a pool, unusable as it leaked the whole week! Topped up with very cold water daily, noisy pool at night as it emptied but pumps kept running.... no apology from manager -after a "discussion " agreed to late check out room for 4 hours on day of departure as form of compensation!

Tired decorative appearance to hotel but may be due to near end of season

Food good but restaurant had feeling of a busy cafeteria, crowds and queues!
Waiting staff all good and helpful

Thomson reps Suzanne and Alan very good and knowledgeable

Poor entertainment- kids disco and the usual bad Karaoke by embarrassing Brits

Thomson really needs to revisit and review star rating

Of interest when we checked out we were asked how was our stay, we said average and this comment was ignored, another couple were checking out at same time and said they had good stay and were offered a feedback form, we weren't....

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank TookyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Giorg i, Διευθυντής at Atlantica Eleon Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017


Dear TookyLincolnshire,

Thank you for taking the time to post your sincere review.

It is only sad for us to read that you had issues with the room conditions at our hotel.
We understand that all the apologies and additional services you were offered by the hotel do not cover the inconvenience you were brought into and eventually we couldn’t make it right back. However we highly appreciate you given us the chance to try our best to improve the whole situation by informing us, as your comments are really valuable for us and will be discussed with my team in order to take actions.

Once more thank you for being our guest and even you don’t feel returning we hope to give us the opportunity to accommodate you again and serve you better.

With Kind Regards,
Georgios Iliopoulos
Hotel Operations Manager









Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Stayed at the Atlantica Eleon in September for 10 days all-inclusive with Thomson.

We had a ground floor room with terrace number 409 it looked out onto the gardens very quiet and out of the way but only a short walk to the main hotel. The rooms were clean and modern no faults at all they had really big and comfortable beds.

The hotel grounds are lovely and well kept, you had to be up at 2am to get a bed by the pool although I did see hotel staff taking towels off the beds much to the upset of some however this was nice to see happen and might stop people putting towels down and then not turning up till mid afternoon. Although we were a group of adults we enjoyed the water slides as much as the kids!

The food was OK however I am a really fussy eater so cant comment too much however I always found something. There was a wide choice of meals, salad, fruit, desserts, breads. There was always staff asking you if you wanted more drinks no issue with how many you got and they were good quality.

I have seen comments regarding this is not 5 star ect ect however to say you are in Greece I think it was, you have to be sensible and remember your not in Dubia or the USA for example, I would return here tomorrow and will be looking at other Atlantica Hotels for my next holiday.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Giorg i, Manager at Atlantica Eleon Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Chris B,

Thank you for honor us with your presence at our hotel and for sharing your recent experience regarding your vacations.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed so much our services and facilities and that you had fantastic holidays here at Atlantica Eleon Grand Resort & Spa. Your constructive feedback regarding food will be taken under consideration and will be discussed with chef.

Do looking forward to welcome you back and experience once more the warm Greek hospitality standards.

With Best Regards,
Georgios Iliopoulos
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Stayed at the Eleon Grand for 2 weeks in September. Cant really fault the hotel. We arrived after dinner but the hotel provided us with a sandwich and fruit platter. The room was fine, cleaned everyday everything worked. Would of been nice to of had a couple of English channels but as we are not a family that goes on holiday to watch TV it wasn't a problem. The room was a 3 minute walk away from the main reception but was near where most the entertainment was so it wasn't a problem. The staff of the hotel overall were fantastic nothing seemed a chore. I have seen people complaining about tiles coming off the pool and this was definitely the case, I never saw anyone hurt themselves but it was noticeable. What people probably need to bare in mind is its coming to end of season and they can hardly drain the pool and re tile now, imagine the up roar if you went on holiday and the pool was closed for maintenance. Food was nice with plenty to choose from and a variety every day throughout a week. The hotel is slightly secluded but Tsilivi is only a 7 euro ride away and has some nice bars and restaurants. The entertainment team did there job really well. Kept a smile on there faces at all times and were approachable and engaging. Someone complained on here that there were no aqua gyms or water sports, there was aqua aerobics every morning as well as kids and adults water polo. I know I have the bruises to prove it.

My only complaint would go to one of the English TUI reps. We attended the TUI meeting the day after our arrival and listened to the sales spiel for the excursions. My partners ears pricked up when the TUI lady (cant remember her name) mentioned about a place to go shopping that was basically a market and you could get 3-4 hours shopping in. My partner decided to go with some of her friends they booked a mini bus after consulting the TUI rep about the place. The alarm bells should of started ringing when reception questioned why my partner wanted to go there only for the TUI rep to butt in and say about the amazing shopping and said to the reception girl that she should know how good it was there. My partner booked a taxi for 160 euros for a round trip to the "shopping experience" only to find there was 3 or 4 shops which sold all the same items. Upon arrival my partner and her friend complained to the rep who was taken a back and got rather offended when the word con was thrown at her well if she looked up the definition of the word con I cant see how she can argue against it. She then went on to admit that she hadn't been to this place for 3 or 4 years, how someone can claim to know about somewhere without visiting for such a time is beyond me. She did compensate us by giving us a free massage from the hotel which kind of made up for the money wasted on Taxis but not for time wasted on such a great holiday. All in all was an amazing holiday mostly down to the hotel and entertainment team just let let down by a TUI rep.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Giorg i, Manager at Atlantica Eleon Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Martin B,

Thank you so much for proving us with your kind feedback and for being our guest.

It is with great pleasure to read that you had an amazing holiday at Atlantica Eleon Grand Resort & Spa and that you appreciated our services and facilities.
However we would like to apologize about the TUI rep incident.

Hope to welcome you back in the not distant future and experience once more the Greek warm hospitality standards.

With Best Regards,
Georgios Iliopoulos
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

very good service from all the staff, top marks for entertainment Brian and Jessie and crew, food good, drinks, ok ish , problems with cooler on wine in reception bar. beach could do with sorting out, big problem with sun beds, should be a rule that is policed every day or it causes problems, inform on booking in to every client no reserving of sun beds, towels will be removed, thanks to all the staff from the slate family.

Room tip: its good but not 5*
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rogessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Giorg i, Manager at Atlantica Eleon Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear rogessex,

Thank you for providing us with your kind review.

All the negative points you experienced during your stay at our hotel will be taken under serious consideration. However we thank you for appreciating our friendly staff services and for grading us with a satisfying score at Trip Advisor.

Do hope to more opportunities to welcome you back in the not distant future.

Sincerely Yours,
Georgios Iliopoulos
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a one week holiday at the Eleon Grand Resort and I would advise you not to waste your money there. The hotel is advertised as a platinum hotel but this is a joke. Tui need to revisit this hotel and stay in room 615, then they can make a valuation.
On arrival the hotel seemed ok. I would like to say that the staff ( cleaners / waiters / waitresses / reception) are very friendly and try their best, but the condition of the hotel is poor.
Our room was situated away from the main building in the gardens. The first thing I noticed was the torn flooring and the disgusting condition of the floor edges. Next was the bathroom. The toilet was loose, and had been poorly fixed previously judging by the cracked tiles and silicon sealant. The bath taps were also loose and had been plastered in sealant which did nothing to stop the shower water going straight into the wall. The bathroom was very poorly built , for example with gaps between the shower panel and basin work top which was full with dirt and easily visible but obviously hard to clean.
The room was cleaned daily and again the cleaning staff did an excellent job considering what they were working with.

The pool area is good although the surrounding grass gets very muddy. The large pool also needs some work as many of the tiles are missing. The pool waiters/ waitresses are first class, always happy and eager to help. Also the life guards are very good, they had a close eye on all the kids and were very polite if anything had to be said.

The kids evening entertainment was ok, nothing special. The entertainment that followed was an absolute disgrace. It was basically embarrassing to watch. Just as well it only lasted one hour. A platinum hotel should be offering quality entertainment!!!!

The food was poor. Breakfast was the best choice.

The surrounding area from the hotel is like a rubbish tip. I have never seen so much rubbish scattered everywhere. Also the hotel is full with what I presume are stray cats. They will regularly enter the restaurant while you are eating and sit on the floor under the tables!!!!!!

Overall a very disappointing holiday. This is our fourth holiday with Tui and the first time we were disappointed. Every other hotel booked with Tui was first class. Tui clearly has some explaining to do regarding their platinum hotel!!!!!!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Giorg i, Manager at Atlantica Eleon Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Andrew P,

We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review.

We are really sorry and concerned that our hotel facilities were not to your satisfaction. All your input will be discussed with the relevant head of departments to take actions where need improvements.

Sincerely thank you for being our guest and do hope to give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

With Kind Regards,
Georgios Iliopoulos
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews