We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!”

Drakensberg Boys Choir
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Drakensberg Boys Choir School is one of the few South African Schools whose fame extends around the world. This school offers a unique educational opportunity for boys; it stimulates their spirit of adventure and exploration in our beautiful surroundings, while nurturing the development of the mind and expression in innate musical talent. Set on a 100Ha estate, the school draws its inspiration from the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, a World Heritage Site in KwaZulu-Natal, and is filled with the sound of boys singing, surely one of the purest of musical delights in the world. Don't miss our popular Wednesday concerts at 15h30, every Wednesday during term time!
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We have returned to the Drakensberg Boys Choir Festival and enjoyed the 2 shows we attended. I must say that, for me, their renditions were better last year but, it may just have been the wrong shows for us. Having Watershed there was another treat. Next year we will be back for more entertainment. Thank you.

Thank RainbowGirls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCS_Choir, Marketing Team at Drakensberg Boys Choir, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thank you. We love to hear positive feedback from our audience. See you at a concert soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wednesday afternoon"
in 25 reviews
"world class"
in 19 reviews
"second half"
in 9 reviews
"scones"
in 5 reviews
"wonderful afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"classical music"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful performance"
in 3 reviews
"hard work"
in 4 reviews
"a real treat"
in 4 reviews
"world renowned"
in 2 reviews
"professional performance"
in 2 reviews
"should book"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful surroundings"
in 3 reviews
"an absolute"
in 4 reviews
"champagne sports resort"
in 3 reviews
"south africa"
in 5 reviews
"school holidays"
in 2 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We loved the show. These boys are brilliant at such a young age, bright futures ahead. Apart from just the singing, the theatrics in the show took it to another level. Even my 2 year old kid was loving it.

Thank Shahil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Spent a lovely afternoon at the school listening to the well established choir do what they do so well. A lovely show and much appreciated by the audience. My only suggestion, is that I prefer some well known songs to be included, as well as the choir master's own compositions. Lots of African themed songs which I know are appreciated by the foreign visitors. Well done to the boys and the hard working staff. You impressed us! Thank you!

Thank Di P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCS_Choir, Marketing Team at Drakensberg Boys Choir, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We did not have a concert on 11 March (that was a Sunday)... :-)

It is quite paradoxical to ask for well-known songs as well as the conductor's own compositions, but we do catch your drift.

We're not sure which concert you attended, but the choir's repertoire for the last 3 concerts included well-known music by Mozart, Hugh Masekela, the theme songs from Gladiator and The Greatest Showman, and some lesser known works by well-known composers like Leonard Bernstein and Ola Gjeilo. The Folklore set contained a well-known xhosa hymn (Ndikhokhele Bawo) and Shosholoza.

Please send some suggestions about the songs you would like to hear. We will happily pass them on to the Music Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

My family and I attended the 21st March concert and thoroughly enjoyed it. We did not know what to expect before we arrived, but when we left we were talking about it for hours.
The whole production was so well put together from lighting to how the music was arranged.
It's high energy with the boys singing , moving around the stage and playing instruments.
The soloists were confident and sang with feeling - well done boys.
The class of 2018 sang beautifully . We met a few of the boys and they are a credit to the school. Extremely polite and well mannered.
Dress code casual.
There is a shop for drinks and snacks.We arrived at the school at 2,45 pm.

1  Thank Mrs-TravellerAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCS_Choir, Marketing Team at Drakensberg Boys Choir, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We love hearing about our audience's impression of our boys and the concert.
Hope to see you again at another concert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

A must see!! The boys are incredible and their singing moves you to tears. Tick this off on your bucket list!!

Thank Lizel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBCS_Choir, Marketing Team at Drakensberg Boys Choir, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Short and to the point! Thank you for relaying your experience of our recent concert. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drakensberg Boys Choir also viewed

uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, KwaZulu-Natal
Cathkin Park, Drakensberg Region
 
Winterton, Drakensberg Region
Cathkin Park, Drakensberg Region
 

Been to Drakensberg Boys Choir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing