We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Clos des Pins(Six-Fours-les-Plages)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Helios(Ile des Embiez)
US$184
US$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Restaurant du Parc(Six-Fours-les-Plages)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Bastide de Font-Clarette(Six-Fours-les-Plages)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Le Carre des Vignes(Six-Fours-les-Plages)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Jardins d'Anglise(Six-Fours-les-Plages)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camping Saint Jean(Six-Fours-les-Plages)
Booking.com
View Deal
La Bastide du Bouchou(Six-Fours-les-Plages)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
16
65
40
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
65
40
18
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just returning from a week staying here and I must say we had a fantastic time.

Family of four, 2 adults 2 teenagers we had a really great time.
We have stayed with Lagrange previously and this is our favourite.
The quality of the apartment was good. Downstairs living space excellent with a four seater sofa bed, open plan to kitchen, balcony and downstairs toilet. Upstairs was the challenge. 2 rooms one double one twin, both in the eves. I (at 5ft4) hit my head on the ceiling every time I hit in and out if bed. The kids didn't fair much better. Didn't overly bother us mind you. Storage is also a challenge but we made do and used our suitcases for laundry. Best thing about the apartment is the location.

A previous review states there are no double beds but we had a double room and a twin room. The beds were very comfortable indeed.

The apartments have all you need and a well equipped kitchen in terms of what's typical in a residence du tourism. We showered often and at no point did we ever run out of hot water, that's with 3 women!!

There is carrefour supermarket a four minute walk away which is fantastically handy. Just walk out of the property and at the road turn right, the supermarket is at the end of the street. You can buy all you need there.

The beach is 3 minutes on from that, just at the end of the road. It's worth walking the length of the beach as you come across some lovely quiet coves and nicer sandy beaches within 10 mins.

Thursday is market day and it's worth taking the time to walk around.

The Pool was nice but gets very busy later in the afternoon as all the families return. We preferred the beach.

If you like wine, check out Bandol and the vineyards, they make a lovely day trip.

On departure you do have to clean unless you pay for the cleaning package. If you dont know to bring cleaning products (we didn't the first time) you will have to buy them. Our apartment had a hoover, dustpan and brush, 2 brooms a bucket and a floor cloth. All we brought was multipurpose cleaner for kitchen and bathrooms, a sponge with scouring pad and fairy liquid. To give the place a good clean once we are all packed up takes less than an hour.

All in all a great holiday, very relaxing, would happily return again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sargent0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Pros: The small village and the neighboring islands are beautiful. There are probably much better places to stay in the village though.
Cons: They wanted to charge extra from nearly everything. E.g. we had choose to pay 70€ extra for final cleaning. Still we were expected to do the dishes, bring the sheets and trashes some 200m to bin/trolley with the threat of charging extra from the 300€ deposit. The apartment did not include a single item for cleaning (except vacuum cleaner). We were expected to buy our own. On arrival they provided a very long "inventory list" of dishes with price on each line. We were expected to do our own inventory and report if something was missing. Later missing things would be charged. When I reported several missing items, none of them were supplied during our stay. Neither was any other of our service request fulfilled. When we complained that the room was dusty and balcony was dirty, they said that it was the fault of the previous customers. We had a 6 person apartment with four people. It would have been very small for 6 people. There was not a single cabinet available for our own luggages. The only cabinet was locked and tagged "private do not open". Even though polite, the staff was totally inflexible and showed no empathy to us in any situation. I have never seen anything similar in France, or anywhere else. I will definitely look other alternatives next time.

Room Tip: Based on other comments, it seems that the hotel provides better rooms with balcony and views. Our was in the 1st floor with no view, nor sun. It is better to ask where exactly your room is located.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from a week staying here and I must say we had a fantastic time. We were really impressed with the whole set up, from the friendly staff to the quality of the apartment and in particular the location. A previous review states there are no double beds but we had a double room and a twin room. The beds were very comfortable indeed. As a side note we also put the two singles together and used them as a double, no problem at all. The apartments have all you need and a well equipped kitchen in terms of what's typical in a residence du tourism. We showered often and at no point did we ever run out of hot water. Our only issue here was the amount of water that escaped and in turn soaked the bathroom floor.

There is carrefour supermarket a four minute walk away which is fantastically handy. Just walk out of the property and at the road turn right, the supermarket is at the end of the street. You can buy all you need there.

Thursday is market day and it's worth taking the time to walk around. Also worth trying Is the rotisserie chicken from the market,, really tasty!

Pool was nice but as comfy as the loungers are to sit on, you really can't lay flat in them. Also, the pool gets very busy later in the afternoon as all the families return.

All in all a great stay and we would choose to stay here in the future if we return yo the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronandkristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This residence left many bad memories for us. However, the price was low and the rooms were better than the price would imply ($337 for 7 days!) Europeans have some very odd ways about them, from an American point of view. Doing business is NOT a priority of being in business. Case in point: This is a large property, serving 100s of guests, that closes the desk – and all services – every night and entirely on Wednesday!

We were to check in on a Tuesday, but were delayed. Wednesday there was no one present or checking phone messages to even tell us we were screwed. We were forced to find other lodging and unfortunately we chose the worst hotel ever: Grand Hotel des Bains in Sanary-sur-Mer. NEVER stay at Grand Hotel des Bains in Sanary-sur-Mer!

The second shocker was that they offer rooms with patios, but sometimes those patios are 6 feet below the parking lot and the view one gets there is the underside of all the cars parked at the edge of that patio. For a mere 11€, we upgraded significantly: better location, better view and an extra bedroom.

The next pisser was the hot water. Each apartment is not limited in hot water use, BUT there is a trick that you must be aware of – and they DO NOT volunteer this information. After being completely denied of hot water at Grand Hotel des Bains in Sanary-sur-Mer, we immediately needed long showers. After our day out and dinner, my wife wanted to soak in a hot bath. But NO! I can't imagine a family or group with several American women getting enough hot water without this secret switch.

At this residence, each room has their own hot water tank, but that tank will only generate hot water once each day (on a timer, set for 02h00 or so), unless you know where the manual reset switch is located. One bathtub full of hot water is all you get unless you know the secret. We didn’t find out about the secret switch until the day before we left. On the first day, we assumed it was a fluke and didn’t complain. On our 3rd day, it happened again, but after the desk had closed. We left a message and no one ever called us back. This was typical of the service we got, along with a wry sarcasm that struck us as if the clerk kept repeating “Stupid Americans” in her mind while she spoke with us with a “warm” smile that was simply condescending.

The apartments are much larger than hotel rooms at twice the price, plus there is a kitchen. However (as stated on the web page I booked through), all the beds are singles, so romance is fraught with the possibility of falling onto the floor.

The last oddity was that they require guests to “clean and sanitize” the entire apartment and dump the linen at the washroom before checking out. They have a kit you can buy for 8€, or you can buy a sponge and cleaner at the grocery for 3€. As for a complete kitchen, there are no disposables (no paper towels, sponges soap, etc.) and there is one roll of paper in the toilet. A follow-up cleaning crew supposedly comes in between guests, but the instructions seem to imply that they don’t get their hands dirty or bend over or do much of anything. There is a threat of a huge penalty if the staff is dissatisfied with your work.

The Lagrange Prestige Les Terrasses des Embiez is only a few-minutes’ walk to the marina and a weekly farmers market held there. There is a ferry there that will take you to l'île des Embiez (Embiez Island), which is really nothing more than a nice boat ride in March. Perhaps it’s better during “the season,” but we walked around a good part of the island and it wasn’t worth getting off the ferry for. There was a winery on the island, but they were closed for lunch the entire time we were on the island. The Marina was a very nice place for a picnic or just a bottle of wine.

Six-Fours-les-Plages is a good location for visiting the superb Bandol wine region, though be aware that 2.5 miles “as-the-crow-flies” can be a 25-minute drive between wineries. Domaine de la Bastide Blanche, Domaine de La Tour du Bon, Domaine Tempier, Domaine Ott, Château de Pibarnon and Domaine de Terrebrune were just a few of the great producers we enjoyed. The region is famous for rosé wine, but the reds were even more impressive!

Lagrange Prestige Les Terrasses des Embiez is close enough to dine in Toulon and Hyères – if you dare! We attempted to eat at 12 restaurants in Toulon, but parking was absolutely impossible. Don’t waste your time going there for dinner without having a plan for parking. Giens was a beautiful area to visit, with a great park to watch the sun set from and two nice restaurants. Restaurant Grand Baie was recommended by everyone (but closed on the day we were there) and Le Tire-Bouchon (see review).

Bottom line: 3 stars because it was a good room at a great price in a very good location, but there are far too many “gotchas” for the uninformed, first-time visitor. The pictures offered on websites are, of course, of the best locations. Be aware that the views from the cheapest rooms are not represented. There is plenty of gated parking, but you must get out of your car to open the gate (code), each way.

Room Tip: Check your room before accepting it; my upgrade was 11€ total, not per day.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hoohoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spend two weeks in July in this beautiful place and we did the mistake, just before our Holliday to read the comment here on Tripadvisor, so we was not very optimistic before our arrival. Upon arrival We was welcoming by a very smiling and friendly staff in the reception explaining us everything about the appartments and our stay there, also that it was possible to order after cleaning for a minor fee, which we of course did, because who wants to clean in their Holliday?
On arrival to the appartments we was surprised to see a very weldisposed appartments, containing bedroom, kitchen/living room and a separate room for children, on two sides the appartment was surrounded by a fantastic terraces, equipped with parasol, two tables, chairs and two sun chairs and with a beatiful view over the sea and bay.
Few minuses: There are no oven in the appartment and no aircon. Pool is small, but as there are only 5 minutes walk to the beach it's workable.
I must again emphasize that the reception staff was extremely helpfull and service minded during all our stay.
As a self catered place its surely lived up to our expectations and we would gladly come again and recommend this to others.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Silkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews