We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
78
59
26
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
78
59
26
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first morning onsite restaurant queen bed large room lovely linen friendly staff and great food nights accommodation lovely reception lower south island outskirts of town great place to stay would definitely stay here again exceeded expectations large group great shower cooked breakfast a great nights sleep
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2021

I was in town for work but what a great place to come home to at night. Staff were very friendly and helpful but the room was far more than I expected. Loved it. The hotel setting is very peaceful being on the outskirts of town.

Room tip: I don't think you'd go too far wrong whatever room you choose.
Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Meridian841
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Croydon, General Manager at Croydon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2021

Good Afternoon
great to know you enjoyed your trip to our hotel on the outskirts of Gore,
with good southland hospitality
Kind Regards
Paul Matheson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2021

You could question your choice if you werent to book online and scope this place out first. A different looking Hotel.
Well greeted when I arrived, it was quite a shock to walk into a lovely reception, restaurant area that is very nice, modern and has lovely decor.
The bar lady Laura from Hungary was the best and made my stay more special, we sat there and chatted most of the night it was a pleasure to meet such a lovely lady.
Id love to say Id be back as I would definitely stay here again, Thanks Heartland for a pleasurable stay.

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KellyW4237
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Croydon, General Manager at Croydon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2021

Good afternoon Kelly
We would love too see you again on your next visit down from Auckland,
I will let Laura know you enjoyed her company.
Regards
Paul Matheson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2021

Great hotel and well appointed. Recently renovated. Warm!! Great helpful and efficient staff who were happy to accommodate and assist with some special requirements. Housekeeping were super accommodating too. Very handy having a restaurant on site.

Date of stay: January 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Croydon, General Manager at Croydon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

Good Morning Elizabeth,
I'm Glad you enjoyed your recent visit,
Yes the recent renovations have definitely made a difference as well as having our restaurant on site
and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Paul Matheson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

Hotel set in lovely grounds, with views out over the immaculate lawns from our room. Modern decor, best bed I have ever slept in. Receptionist very helpful. Bar/ wait staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Housemaids showed the good Southland hospitality.

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank DavisMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Croydon, General Manager at Croydon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

Good Morning
Thank you for your Kind words, The gardeners try and keep the grounds in tip top condition this time of year, i will pass on your words to reception and bar/waitresses, We hope to see you again
Regards
Paul Matheson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

Such a lovely hotel, nice rooms and super friendly service. Would definitely recommend to others. They were flexible with arrival times and masses of parking as we had a trailer. Best in Gore I reckon.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jasonjb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim Foster, General Manager at Croydon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2021

Good morning Jasonjb123,

Thank you for staying at Heartland Hotel Croydon. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the service friendly and made use of the ample parking available. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Gore.

Thanks and kind regards,

Tim Foster
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews