We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gore Blimey”
Review of The Thomas Green

The Thomas Green
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Gore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Just opened in December 2011
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

A slice of trendy viaduct Auckland in the most unlikely spot, only no tossers to put up with. Gold!

I don't want to be hard on rural NZ towns, but this restaurant is so sophisticated and spot on with every detail, rare when the competition doesn't demand it.

The decor is a 120 year old character building lovingly restored with a contemporary edge and mezzanine.

We had a gorgeous 12-13 singer setting background music and a hum from the dining public. Not sure if it's normal to tip, but she deserved every cent.

The rack of lamb and beef Wellington were beautifully cooked with thoughtful sides. The meat was glorious. My daughter claimed it as the best meal she has ever eaten. That meals lil ol Gore pipped Auckland, Sydney, London, Paris, Bangkok... you get the picture.

We're moving to Gore.

Well done Thomas Green. You're rockstar kiwis. #proud

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank CantyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz T, General Manager at The Thomas Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to Review our restaurant, I'm so glad you and you family enjoyed your time with us and I have passed on your thoughts to our kitchen and Front of House Team. Look Forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

To start off, the food is excellent and surprising. The chef has real talent and it's a creative menu. Great value too in that Southland way, servings are generous.

Staff are young, but keen, friendly and efficient.

But...and it's a Elephant in the Room sized but...timing.

As I arrived there were issues with dissatisfied patrons leaving due to the wait on mains. I ordered two entrees (as the menu was so enticing I couldn't pick) The first entree (scallops - yum!) was quick but the wait for my next course (duck pancakes - nom nom) was too long. I watched a family of three fidget as their food took ages.

There is a disconnect in the kitchen either with the time it takes to create "the mains" or some other aspect.

Disclaimer - over 20 years FOH in everything from waiting tables to F&B Manger in Tex-Mex fun and value all the way to top end boutique hotels serving...well you can imagine.

So, if chef at The Thomas Green can fix this glitch, this is a genuine 5 star restaurant anywhere.

Glad I went, food was surprising and excellent. A good night.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank BrendanArrowtown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz T, General Manager at The Thomas Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Hi Brendan.

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant as you will know with your experience it is vital we do hear this in order to further improve our business and your particular review is exactly what we need, constructive feedback we can work with. Your thoughts have been passed on to our team and we will use this for our ongoing staff training. Thanks again and we hope to see you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Had heard mixed reviews, more negative than positive but my friend wanted to go to the Thomas green so I gave it the benefit of the doubt. Too bad the service was so terrible. We sat down, had a drink and sat with a menu for over 20 minutes. Tried to make eye contact with staff several times but they were too busy giggling and wrapped up in their personal conversations to bother with customer service. We ended up walking out of the restaurant without ordering. This lack of service to customers is unacceptable and would not be tolerated anywhere else in the world. Staff need to be aware that to visitors, poor service actually reflects negatively on the whole perception and image of Gore. It was embarrassing to invite my friends who were visiting to the Thomas Green. The only good thing about our experience here was that the Howl at the Moon restaurant is just across the road.

Will not return.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank 485bridgettej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz T, General Manager at The Thomas Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Hi Bridgette

I have just taken over as the new manager here at the Thomas Green and I have put particular focus on our customer service and consistency of service. Thank you for your feedback which is a key tool for me to use in this training. I hope that you would consider giving the new look Thomas Green experience a try as we would love to see you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

we were looking for a place to eat in Gore and just happened upon this place. wonderful atmosphere, very friendly staff and the food was amazing. Who knew Gore had such fine dining. Totally recommend

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roz T, General Manager at The Thomas Green, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Hey Kathleen

Thank you so much for your feedback we really appreciate hearing people enjoyed their time with us and I have passed on your thoughts to our crew.

See you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Good place good food nice sits the food is very good the steak was yummy go there for lunch tea it a good place to go

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank GoPlaces666181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thomas Green also viewed

 

Been to The Thomas Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.