We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving it more each time”
Review of The Thomas Green

The Thomas Green
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Gore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Just opened in December 2011
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Been to Thomas Green a number of times now, first for a family dinner which was pricey but brilliant, second for pint and chips again great and then for brunch with friends. The coffee is always good, food very tastes with lots of options and I always love the ambiance and warmth from visiting.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank l0ve2eat-86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2016

Lovely building beautifully renovated, staff great. Very disappointed with menu, there was nothing that I don't cook at home as general kiwi meals. Will not be going back until they change the menu. I am a local and was hoping for something different for a special meal out, will be checking menu next time !

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lillymy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

While staying with family in Gore, we visited the Thomas Green Pub situated in the heart of this lovely small town. There was adequate parking, and the building has been beautifully restored inside and out. We arrived about 6:30 pm on a Friday evening and were shown to a table immediately. Unlike other reviewers we had no wait at all for menus and drinks and our food was served in a quite reasonable time. The steaks were cooked as requested and the sides were very good. My side salad was a bit bland, but otherwise the meal was most enjoyable. Service was excellent. It's a good idea to make a reservation.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank inclinekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We enjoyed our meal although pork was a little dry...could have done with some apple sauce...efficient and helpful staff.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank joybells2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

It's a lovely building, a nice quiet atmosphere but after a long wait the food was disappointing. My friends meal lacked seasoning and mine looked great but was a mix of flavours that didn't work together.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MargM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thomas Green also viewed

 

Been to The Thomas Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
New Zealand
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.