We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise!!!”

restaurant l excellence a Soissons
Ranked #20 of 76 Restaurants in Soissons
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 December 2015

We were walking around town one afternoon looking for an open restaurant to have lunch. We stumbled across the restaurant i excellence. It looked very busy with locals, but the woman of the house found us a table. We were lucky, as the next people to come in were turned away.

We could find no fault with this restaurant. From our Kir Royal thru dessert, everything was exceptional. The home made fois gras with carmelized shallots was to die for. That was followed with stuffed quail, which we both loved.

There were so many interesting things on the menu, plus a blackboard with the daily specials that we would have loved to go back. Unfortunately we found this restaurant on our last day in Soissons, so will have to go back on a future trip.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yupoarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2015

Eighteen of us booked here not sure what to expect. Service unbelievable efficient and all with a smile. The food was excellent so the restaurant is aptly named. We were so impressed that we promptly booked again without knowing it was their closing day. However this was not mentioned and when we turned up on Monday we realised that they had opened specially for us. Again a most enjoyable evening meal was had by all of us. To cap the experience the proprietor gave some of us a lift to the hotel as taxis did not find it worth their while as the hotel was too close by. Definitely service beyond expectation. Well done and compliments to the chef. Not easy to produce such quality for 18 diners when not knowing what might be ordered.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Our visit to L'Excellence on Sunday was a wonderful accident. We had stopped off at Soissons on our way home from Reims and having wandered about the town decided to have lunch. We stumbled across this restaurant totally by accident as we nearly went to the restaurant next door! I am so glad we didn't. The sun was shining so we sat on the terrace, the waiter who I think was also the owner was welcoming and attentive, We both chose the menu du jour which was a mousseline de foie gras for the starter, it looked absolutely stunning and tasted just as good. We then both had stuffed quail with mashed potato and a cauliflower purée. Again the presentation was fantastic and it tasted wonderful. Although the pudding looked great we were both full so ended our lunch with coffee. If ever you visit Soissons I recommend you visit L'Excellence great food, friendly service and excellent value for money.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed restaurant l excellence a Soissons also viewed

 

Been to restaurant l excellence a Soissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing