We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service was so slow and over priced”
Review of Pancake Rocks Cafe

Pancake Rocks Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Punakaiki
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 June 2016

The price of food and berry smoothies were over priced and ask for panini to be heated when it arrived it was full of cheese basil pesto little bacon and feta cheese done on a long bread roll It took at least 25mins and there was only 5 people in the cafe and staff were lacking in conversation and a smile would go a long way.Very disappointed as a ex coaster

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ronGreymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 392 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Decent breakfast and they meant it with their Pancake stacks! More than enough food for 1 person with a stack of 4 pancakes

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank wanderlust0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We visited the pancake rocks on a really rainy day so this was a handy spot to stop for some food. Basic menu choices, we went for pancakes which weren't too bad, quite middle of the road, lots of bacon and maple syrup though which was good! Also had a bowl of over fries which were generous for price. Friendly enough staff, it wasn't very full but one large table had come in before us so we waited quite a while, they also don't bring food out but you collect it which was ok for us.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank AlynaNZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

When me and my family ate their pancakes we was surprised to find them salty... Unbelievable. An the prices are not cheap at all.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank _C7304NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We got the berry and cream pancakes, the pancakes tasted like they had salt in them instead of sugar.

The cappuccinos were 3/4 full, we saw others being served and they were the same as well.

Beautiful location just a shame about the food and service!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Tessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Pancake Rocks Cafe also viewed

Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 

Been to Pancake Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.