We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do”
Review of Punakaiki Canoes

Punakaiki Canoes
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Must do”
Reviewed 18 March 2017

This river winds it's way through the most stunning rainforest scenery and experiencing it by kayak is perfect. You can stop paddling and just float along listening to the sounds of the jungle. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and were in awe of the scenery. Owner was friendly and helpful, we enjoyed this more than the pancake rocks!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyls86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning ”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Even though it was cloudy and raining a bit we had a wonderful time. Views to die for and if you stop paddling you hear only the noise of the jungle. Friendly staff.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Staffan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castletown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value for money and views to die for”
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Arrived here with no advance booking and immediately got sorted out with a double canoe. Shown where to go and what side of the river to stay on. Views as you paddle up are utterly amazing especially the further you go where the cliffs start to close in on you. Wildlife in abundance and in fact slowly paddled past a pied shag sitting on a rock who never even blinked as we went past about three foot from it. Brilliant and well worth a visit.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing viwes along the river”
Reviewed 14 December 2016

I personally think the Porarari river is one of the most beautiful rivers in NZ, the scenery around here is stunning. Kayaking up and down the river was a great experience and lots of fun!

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great experience and cheap! ”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Had half the day free in the area so decided to look what to do and so happy I did the canoeing! I would personally rank this about the pancake rocks themselves.

The price is pretty cheap (compared with kayak tours in NZ). 40NZD for 2h and 5NZD extra every additional hour. They provide you with a airtight container for your gadgets, wetsuit and shoes.

The scenery is beautiful! Like if you were in Jurassic Park. And you are by yourself all the time. You'll occasionally encounter some fellow travellers on the hiking track that goes alongside the river.

As you go upstream, the river will become more and more challenging. If you have continuous difficulties going through one part, I would say it is time to turn around as coming downstream if you don't control the canoe, it might capsize. However, the water is shallow so there is nothing to worry about. Part of the adventure!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank kitsune87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punakaiki Canoes also viewed

Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 

Been to Punakaiki Canoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing