We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience and cheap! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Punakaiki Canoes

Punakaiki Canoes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great experience and cheap! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Had half the day free in the area so decided to look what to do and so happy I did the canoeing! I would personally rank this about the pancake rocks themselves.

The price is pretty cheap (compared with kayak tours in NZ). 40NZD for 2h and 5NZD extra every additional hour. They provide you with a airtight container for your gadgets, wetsuit and shoes.

The scenery is beautiful! Like if you were in Jurassic Park. And you are by yourself all the time. You'll occasionally encounter some fellow travellers on the hiking track that goes alongside the river.

As you go upstream, the river will become more and more challenging. If you have continuous difficulties going through one part, I would say it is time to turn around as coming downstream if you don't control the canoe, it might capsize. However, the water is shallow so there is nothing to worry about. Part of the adventure!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank kitsune87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another world ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

The guy that runs the place is really funny and very accommodating. He's never closed, there is a button you push to call him if he's not there and he will show up a minute or two later. We went on a rainy day and it was gorgeous. Not as strenuous as you might think it would be but definitely worth the effort for the scenery.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Codinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Super friendly owners and the most amazing river I've ever kayaked down. The scenery along the river blew my mind. Felt like I was kayaking through Jurassic Park. Don't miss this if you go to Punakaiki.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank fieldingp2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good fun for $40”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

A great kayak up river. A few places you have to walk but its definitely worth it. The scenery us incredible and its a great ride back down the river with some mild rapids. Places to stop and have breaks along the way too :)

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank NatzB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2016

We only took the canoes out for a couple of hours, but we could have gone for much longer. This was worth every single penny (though it was not expensive in the least) and more. The river is stunning and once you get on to the lime stone formations in the river it is absolutely beautiful. Going back down the river with the small rapids is a lot of fun. Out in the lagoon, we had a really nice calming canoe ride. Neither of us are experienced canoers, but that didn't really matter. It would probably not be possible to go without ever having been in a canoe or kayak though. The owner is really lovely, knowledgeable and laid-back. We will definitely be doing this again when we get back to Punakaiki. One thing to be aware of is the sand flies, which ate me alive, but barely touched my partner. They are like a worse version of midgies.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank EsmeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punakaiki Canoes also viewed

Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 

Been to Punakaiki Canoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing