We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun for $40”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Punakaiki Canoes

Punakaiki Canoes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good fun for $40”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

A great kayak up river. A few places you have to walk but its definitely worth it. The scenery us incredible and its a great ride back down the river with some mild rapids. Places to stop and have breaks along the way too :)

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank NatzB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2016

We only took the canoes out for a couple of hours, but we could have gone for much longer. This was worth every single penny (though it was not expensive in the least) and more. The river is stunning and once you get on to the lime stone formations in the river it is absolutely beautiful. Going back down the river with the small rapids is a lot of fun. Out in the lagoon, we had a really nice calming canoe ride. Neither of us are experienced canoers, but that didn't really matter. It would probably not be possible to go without ever having been in a canoe or kayak though. The owner is really lovely, knowledgeable and laid-back. We will definitely be doing this again when we get back to Punakaiki. One thing to be aware of is the sand flies, which ate me alive, but barely touched my partner. They are like a worse version of midgies.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank EsmeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2016

We loved this day! the owner here was so helpful, since we had the time, he suggested we hike around Truman Track before kayaking to allow for the tide. He gave us booties (better than our water shoes for insulation and rocks), a tie for our sun glasses (a must), life jackets, and a sealed bucket to keep our camera dry.

Kayaking along this beautiful gorge was breathtaking! We did need to paddle hard upstream, getting out and pulling our kayaks through some of the small rapids - this effort made it all the better on the way down stream!

we saw Pancake rocks this day too - all easy to do in a day.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Nancy850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, worth every cent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2016

My husband and I spent 2 glorious hours kayaking in single kayaks up the river, it's so beautiful, crystal clear water, amazing scenery. We absolutely loved it. Bring a picnic, have a swim :) the service was excellent and all gear provided was in good nick. Thank you so much !

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliwenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2016

The stunning scenery alone is worth it! Our family of two adults and two kids (14, 9) found it easy to paddle upstream in this beautiful, shallow river. Was fun, hassle free and a memory to treasure. Drifting downstream surrounded by untouched native bush was just perfect.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Darryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punakaiki Canoes also viewed

Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 

Been to Punakaiki Canoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing