We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fun canoeing at Punakaiki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punakaiki Canoes

Punakaiki Canoes
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family fun canoeing at Punakaiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2016

Our family of 2 adults & 2 boys aged 8 & 13 hired canoes & spent a wonderful 2 hours paddling up & down the river. It was a hassle free hire & we would recommend it to anyone with time to stop & enjoy the beauty of the river & bush & the towering limestone cliffs. Our 8 year old found it quite hard to paddle against the gentle current up the river so we made use of the rope attached to the canoe & dad towed him up the faster bits which allowed us to paddle for an hour or more up the river then float back down again. We found the small waterproof buckets handy for snacks & camera & the boots kept or feet warm when we had to hop in to tow the canoe's over the shallow parts. After the river we spent a fun couple of hours at the lagoon, just downstream from where you enter the water with your canoe. We had a fun filled family day out & I'm sure we will be back!!! Don't forget your sunscreen, hat & maybe consider long sleeves if its a sunny day & you burn easily as there wasn't much shade as you paddle up the river.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Stony6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2016

This is a beautiful part of the world, fully experienced by kayaking up the river. The staff were helpful. The equipment was in good condition. The river was easy for someone with a moderate level of fitness.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank fk_mcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
“So beautiful and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2016

We took 2 of our own paddle boards and rented a couple of kayaks for the rest of our group. Access to the river and the rental shop is right near the road and easy to find.It was really easy to get everything in the water and there is no messing about with annoying paperwork. Super nice lady working there gave us booties and a dry container so that we could take our cameras. The river and the surroundings are unbelievably beautiful and on a sunny day I can't think of a better activity. There are a few tiny "rapids" that made for exciting kayaking for beginners but they can be easily portaged if you'd rather not. The suggested 2 hours was not enough time for us so we spent the best part of the day out there. Pack a lunch and spend some time in the swimming holes and lying on the rocks as well as paddling about. It was not overcrowded which made it easy to find a peaceful spot. It would be fun on a rainy day too if not too cold.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely river, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

My friend had to rent a kayak as me and my friend and a double one anyway. The lovely woman that worked there let us borrow booties and buoyancy aid for free. Very helpful at telling us where to kayak in the river and where the shallow bits are

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Danni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

We brought our own kayak so we needed one more. We hired one and they also gave the other two of us free lifejacket and bootie hire. The views on this river are spectacular. Crystal clear water however there are some strong currents to beware of this! Fantastic afternoon out.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Travelaholic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punakaiki Canoes also viewed

Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 

Been to Punakaiki Canoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing