We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
75
67
30
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
67
30
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen drying room non powered site great spot amenity block shuttle service surrounded by mountains standard cabin small cabin great facilities pancake rolls best kept secret stunning location down the road hot water minute drive lots of space
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2019

Only positive comments can be said about this Beach Camp. It is extremely beautiful, and that is only helped by the friendly and very welcoming staff who run it. The scenery is stunning, and the paddleboarding trip up the river was a wonderful way to really connect with nature. The facilities were great, and the cabins were very well priced. Overall, Nathaniel and I found it incredible and 12/10 would come back here again!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jessaitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2018

I enjoyed staying here. Beach side camp ground, small compact kitchen. Free hot showers - via push button. Great spot for spectacular sunsets. Beach, bush and river walks. Tavern less than 100m away. Wifi is now unlimited however it does have fade out and some spots around the camp it doesnt work. I usually rank site highly.
This trip I was disturbed.
I booked via the website believing it would be a busy time of the year. Note if I fail to turn up there is a cancellation fee. Hence the problem.
I arrived at 12.50pm, check in at office - no one in attendance. Sign on floor saying manager in the grounds. Ring the bell. No response. I sit and wait. Several other people come up and press the bell. The son comes around the front and suggests I walk through the grounds and try and locate them. I go off for a walk and don't find anyone resembling a worker. I go back and wait some more. The son comes back and says to just go and park on a site. This is at 1.30pm. He comes back after two and says he doesnt know where his mother is. A young girl arrives at 2.15pm to check me. She apologised for the wait - but didnt ask how long I had waited. If I had driven off - I would have been charged the fee - however I did show up but no one would have known. Very poor welcome. There must be some way to contact you if you are not in the office. My cell phone had no coverage.
The next day a women stopped and asked me if I had paid to stay on. What? Clearly in my window is the pink card saying check out on Wednesday - this was Sunday. Lack of communication, it is clear there is some process issue here. But as I had the pink card in the window I should not have been disturbed. Could have gone back to the office and checked.These two incidents have soured my stay here.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboydunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46punakaikibeachcamp, Manager at Punakaiki Beach Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2018

Hi there,

Thanks for your review, we see you have stayed before and have a lovely time, sorry this time was a little different. During the middle of the day when very little people are checking we put up a sign saying managers working in camp, if you just come over and find us cleaning we can check you in no problem. We were cleaning cabins this time and possibly harder to find. Obviously when ringing the bell you won't get anyone as the sign says no-one is here.

It was a valid mistake you weren't on our list for another night. We do apologise for this.

Regards
Jed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful and very well priced campsite. Great facilities (WiFi, free hot showers etc) and lovely personel.
Made the track up the Pororari River. So amazing! The clear water, the birdlife.
They also provide canoing and paddleboarding trips up the river

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Klimgeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

What a beautiful holiday park right on the beach. Lots of sheltered sites surrounded by stunning native bush. You can sit and watch the sunset on an elevated area (a rock wall protecting the campsite from the sea). Facilities basic, but nice & clean. What a lovely spot!

Room tip: Beach side sites are stunning.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MQtNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Last night of our tour round NZ and what a beautiful setting right by the beach looking at the Tasman sea,
Welcoming Fella on the reception desk who said to go pick whichever pitch we wanted, pitch was huge with everything we needed, facilities in the campground were clean but basic which wouldn’t put me off,
Setting Fantastic

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Q4582VGmartinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews