We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punakaiki Beach Camp
Nearby Hotels
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Paparoa Park Motel(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Punakaiki Resort(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
US$91
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Breeze Motel(Greymouth)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aachen Place Motel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$87
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
58
47
23
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
47
23
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspowered sitethe kitchenlovely sitebathrooms were cleanlonely planetpower sitesdrying roomshort walk up the hillgreat spotbasic facilitiespancake rollspororari riverlate at nightenjoyed our staydouble bedthree nightslounge area
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

One of the most incredible locations along the west coast without a doubt. Very short walk up the road to the pancake rocks was a bonus. The facilities were dated but the location made up for it. Highly recommended

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Really love this campsite. Instantly felt relaxed and on a holiday. Beautifull surroundings, nice clean campsites with plenty of space and enough picknicktables to go around. Little trouble with sandflies (big plus!) Clean and good facilities, again with enough space for everyone to cook and enjoy their meals. Premises are clearly well maintained. Free wifi for 30 minutes, reasonable quality but not great. Also wifi is turned off from 9am to 11am for reasons that are not clear to me.
Showers and toilets seem fairly new. Waterpressure in showers is great as well. The only minus for me is the fact that you have to press the button in the shower to get water every 30 seconds it seems. This is really a downer for me. I understand about preservating water but even in the dryest parts of Australia that need water rationing, a continues shower of 3 minutes is considered normal. And this isn't a long time for the next guest to wait either I would imagine.

But that one minus put aside I really enjoyed my time here. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leeuw605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We enjoyed our one night stay at a tent site here. We were given a spot right next to the beach access, which was beautiful especially with the cliffs behind the camp. The kitchen was well-kept and spacious, the campsite is in a convenient location, and we enjoyed our stay. The only negative thing I have to say is we were looking forward to a hot shower after a day of travelling in cold rain and then hiking in the heat, but the shower could best be described as sub-lukewarm! Had to suck it and bundle up to get warm, but the scenery was well worth the small sacrifice.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46punakaikibeachcamp, Manager at Punakaiki Beach Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Hey there, great to hear you enjoyed our spot here in Paradise! Really sorry about the shower, not sure why it would have been cold as we have heaps of solar hot water and gas when that runs out, hopefully we can get you a hot shower next time you come through!

Jed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Lodged between the sea and the cliff, right in front of the river, the Punakaiki Beach Camp is the perfect location to explore the area. A short walk to the cavern and a very short drive to the pancake rocks. Plus, their prices are spot on! Great job guys! We'll be back soon!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Robin_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We recently stayed in a powered campervan site with beach views. We rang ahead and were greeted with very helpful and friendly assistance. When we arrived, we settled in and used the kitchen facilities which were really quaint and cottage like with the open fire warming up the dining area. This park is very cosy and homely surrounded by mountains and beaches.

When we realised that we had left our camera charger behind I spoke to Sue at reception who then offered her own personal camera so we didn't miss out on any photos the next day. She also offered to ring the camera store in Greymouth the next morning to see if they were open on a Sunday. Amazing personal service. Thanks Sue you made our experience at Hanmer Springs a great one.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank 56NY_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews