We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous spot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punakaiki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Punakaiki Beach Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot!”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Easy, friendly check in. We chose a great spot for the campervan backing towards the beach, plenty of good spots to choose from. Basic facilities, but clean and suitable . Lovely quiet place to spend the night, great!

Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KittyCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    43
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
52
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

One of the most incredible locations along the west coast without a doubt. Very short walk up the road to the pancake rocks was a bonus. The facilities were dated but the location made up for it. Highly recommended

Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmoral, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Really love this campsite. Instantly felt relaxed and on a holiday. Beautifull surroundings, nice clean campsites with plenty of space and enough picknicktables to go around. Little trouble with sandflies (big plus!) Clean and good facilities, again with enough space for everyone to cook and enjoy their meals. Premises are clearly well maintained. Free wifi for 30 minutes, reasonable quality but not great. Also wifi is turned off from 9am to 11am for reasons that are not clear to me.
Showers and toilets seem fairly new. Waterpressure in showers is great as well. The only minus for me is the fact that you have to press the button in the shower to get water every 30 seconds it seems. This is really a downer for me. I understand about preservating water but even in the dryest parts of Australia that need water rationing, a continues shower of 3 minutes is considered normal. And this isn't a long time for the next guest to wait either I would imagine.

But that one minus put aside I really enjoyed my time here. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeuw605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We enjoyed our one night stay at a tent site here. We were given a spot right next to the beach access, which was beautiful especially with the cliffs behind the camp. The kitchen was well-kept and spacious, the campsite is in a convenient location, and we enjoyed our stay. The only negative thing I have to say is we were looking forward to a hot shower after a day of travelling in cold rain and then hiking in the heat, but the shower could best be described as sub-lukewarm! Had to suck it and bundle up to get warm, but the scenery was well worth the small sacrifice.

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
46punakaikibeachcamp, Manager at Punakaiki Beach Camp, responded to this review, 17 September 2016
Hey there, great to hear you enjoyed our spot here in Paradise! Really sorry about the shower, not sure why it would have been cold as we have heaps of solar hot water and gas when that runs out, hopefully we can get you a hot shower next time you come through!

Jed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
265 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Lodged between the sea and the cliff, right in front of the river, the Punakaiki Beach Camp is the perfect location to explore the area. A short walk to the cavern and a very short drive to the pancake rocks. Plus, their prices are spot on! Great job guys! We'll be back soon!

Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punakaiki hotels
2.1 km away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
93 reviews
1.7 km away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
218 reviews
0.2 km away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
659 reviews
1.6 km away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
311 reviews
0.4 km away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beach Camp

Property: Punakaiki Beach Camp
Address: Owen St, Punakaiki 7866, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Punakaiki
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punakaiki Beach Camp is located in a picturesque beachside setting adjoining Paparoa National Park. Entrance is in Owen Street, off SH 6, 1km north of Pancake Rocks & easy 45 min drive from Westport or Greymouth. Ideal for overnight stop or extended stay, the Punakaiki Beach Camp is an excellent base to explore limestone gorges, bushwalks, beaches & Pancake Rocks & Blowholes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing