We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
118
61
14
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
61
14
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cottagethe kitchendouble roomfridge spaceprivate balconycommon roomfor salepancake rollsoverlooking the oceanbar fridgenice gardenonly negative thingenjoyed my staystayed longersmall kitchenettefew stepsmin walk
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Came here to see the pancake rocks. The hostel was very clean and located only 10 min (walk) from the rocks. The kitchen area was super clean. And not crowded at all even though the hostel was fully booked the night we stayed. The staff was very nice and welcoming. They even offered us a ride to the bus stop when it wouldn't stop raining. Awesome. Best in New Zealand so far.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Bettina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

The first thing to know about this hostel is that it has an amazing location, right on the beach. We booked a private room and were lucky enough to have a private balcony over looking the beach - for the price this must be one of the best room outlooks in NZ! The facilities are clean and well maintained, the cooking facilities are OK - but things can get crowded in the common areas at meal times.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 (a private double) which has a private balcony overlooking the beach and sunsets.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AussieJono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We asked for the private en suite room that had view of the beach and the room didn't disappoint! Not the biggest room that you will ever have but the views more than make up for it. The room itself is fine with a sink and bar fridge. There is a small veranda at the front of the room that is nice to sit and relax and have a beer/ coffee as the sun sets. The crowing glory of this accommodation though is the shower that has views of the beach - when booking this accommodation ensure you ask for the private room overlooking the beahc

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bobituper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We had an Absolutely Amazing stay at Punakaiki Beach Hostel and it is now ranking amongst one of my all time favorite hostel. Nothing to fault in terms of cleanliness, great views look right over onto the beach and kitchen is well stock with all the required cooking essentials. Overall a very well kept hostel and hosts are friendly and helpful. I read another reviewer mentioned that the bread the hostel offers is one of the most tasteful breads they have tried over the last 3 years; I cannot agreed more.

Thank you for the great job you do and keep it up! We can't wait till the next time we travel back to the west coast again and this round we will definitely want to experience staying at the house bus.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thesavvytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Stayed for 1 night only in the sunset cottage unit which looks straight out to the beach.
Room is fairly clean and presentable. There is a kettle, bar fridge and some tea and coffee satchels. No complimentary soap or shampoo satchels at all in bathroom, which was a first for me as I have never paid for a room and not had soap provided unless it was at a youth hostel or something like that.
The hostel section is located behind the units

Room is adjacent to owners reception/house so unless you close the drapes on your sliding door there is no privacy from them until they close their curtains for the night. This would be the only negative thing that may make look elsewhere as I dont like being able to look into other peoples rooms and visa versa.

The shower in room has good water pressure but has a window in there facing the bedroom that can be seen thru from either the shower or from another person who is sitting on the bed etc. (Ok if it's your partner your sharing the unit with.)

The kitchen area is located in the hostel area and is fairly big and clean and has just about anything u require for cooking in there. Free wifi provided in rooms which ran fairly well.

Pancake rocks and blowhole located about a 5 minute drive from hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MOLLY_CHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews