We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/21
Booking.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/21
eDreams
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/21
Agoda.comUS$169
TripadvisorUS$169
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
234
100
26
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
100
26
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miro cottage outdoor bath overlooking the sea beach house the kitchen two nights living room lovely location karen nikau deck views accommodation sound walks river track
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

A friend recommended these cottages to stay ahead of our Paparoa track tramp. The cottage really nicely done, rustic but stylish in a lovely location above the state highway overlooking the sea. My only beef was the price, high for nzers shown by only two cottages booked during our mid January stay.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stevew538
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2021

Nikau Cottage was as promoted. It has been nicely renovated.

The kitchen and bathroom fittings and facilities are all of a very good standard. The two bedrooms are both large. The bed linen was fine quality. The sound of the sea while in bed is wonderful. Good sea views from the cottage and the deck. Wifi worked well.

Communal laundry on site worked well, although no drying rack or clothesline or iron. Self check-in was fine and easy. Cottage was clean.

I would recommend this accommodation. It was relatively expensive, especially for Punakaiki ($340 per night) but we felt the quality was there; we were a couple but it will sleep many more, which might make it more affordable.

Small negatives: we were harassed by mosquitos at night, despite keeping all the insect screens shut. Some insect spray and/or an audit of standing water would help this. Some shade over the deck would have been nice. And a clothes drying rack. There is no dishwasher.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ge90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2020

Staying at Hydrangea Cottages was a real treat, a fantistic place to unwind. The 2 Tui's that styed in the tree outside the door, were beautiful to listen to. We stayed at Miro Cottage and couldn't fault a thing. We especailly loved being able to open the doors onto the patio and just sit, watch and listen. The complex was clean and we loved exploring the area.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnandCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen Dickson, Owner at Hydrangea Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2020

Thank you great to hear. And yes birdsong here is something special.
regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020 via mobile

Loved these small cottages overlooking the sea. We booked Miro cottage which had an outdoor bath - heaven lying in the bath watching the stars and listening to the sea was just wonderful. My only complaint was the lack of tea/coffee supplies - two tea bags and 1 satchet of coffee for a couple for two nights wasnt alot so maybe be prepared as tgere is no shop handy, but otherwise loved our time here.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen Dickson, Owner at Hydrangea Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2020

Thanks for your review and letting us know about tea supplies, this was over looked by us and we would of been more than happy to give you more if you had asked during you stay - Thanks for staying with us while in Punakaiki.
regards
Hydrangea cottages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2020

Absolutely loved out stay here. Very friendly and helpful reception from Neil and Karen. Allowed us to park our car while we went up the Paparoa river track. The room we had came with the outdoor bath tub and candles. The view was beautiful as we watched the sun set and enjoyed the sounds of nature. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious. Everything was very clean. We arrive in winter to find the heat pump on and the room was lovely and warm and very welcoming. Most of all we loved the size and feeling of the place. Was perfect for us, world class.

Room tip: It would be a mistake to pass this place
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnieBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen Dickson, Owner at Hydrangea Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2020

Thanks for your kind review of Miro cottage - re the candles we do not usually provide these - and were left from other guests.
regards
Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews