We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$115
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$115
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$103
View deal
Hotels.comUS$110
Expedia.comUS$110
CheapTicketsUS$110
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (884)
Filter reviews
884 results
Traveller rating
239
352
193
76
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
239
352
193
76
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco suite across the road pancake rolls resort restaurant the main hotel great view of the beach room was large new zealand tasman sea beach side two double beds wild west coast road trip pancake rocks and blowholes comfortable rooms stayed one night beautiful sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 884 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2020

Excellent location with a terrific outlook across the beach and out to sea and just a couple of minutes drive to Punakaiki Pancake Rocks car park and café.

The hotel was very quiet with just a handful of other guests, so were very pleased to find the restaurant was still operational. Reception/Restaurant staff were very friendly and courteous.

Altogether, a great start to our West Coast Adventure!

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank MichaelDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2020 via mobile

Apart from the photos above the urinal near the bar making me laugh(see below), the whole place had a strange vibe. It was in a beautiful rugged location that I expected to have a 'typical' West Coast feel; such as close-knit small town hospitality and local friendliness. Instead the resort aimed high class or 5 star which sort of felt out of place.

The resort was neither fantastic or uninspiring, completely down the middle. The price for accommodation was reasonable, the beds firm (which means comfortable for us), the room and facilities slightly in need of maintenence yet still tidy.
Plenty of parking, though some of the rooms will mean a walk of 100m or so to your room door.

The negatives were the staff didn't seem to be able to quite pull off the 5 star air they were expected to portray. Except for the fantastic and polite waitress it came across as snooty rather than polite.

As a captive market they have decided to charge through the nose for their restaurant food, $95 for 2 mains and 2 drinks.

I would stay again but maybe not as a first choice in the area. The main attraction was the proximity to the pancake rocks, within easy walking distance.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Axle_Twix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2020

Hotel in great location right on beach and only a 5 minute walk (on shoulder of state highway) to stunning Pancake Rocks. Room had all I needed (2 double beds, large analogue flat screen TV, 1 armchair). Bathroom had shower and sink, toilet seat broken. Rooms in need of refurb - same as when I stayed 10 years ago. Not much nearby to eat and restaurant is ok but expensive. The picture with the fire is bar which was cozy.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank julieeballantyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2020

We stayed one night as part of a recent "road trip" around the South Island, post lock-down. Our room had a lovely view of the sea, but the sunset was hard to see due to it being mid-winter. Our room did not have a balcony - I would highly recommend a balcony room in summer to sit out and watch the scenery (glass of wine in hand!). We had two double beds in our room, with tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge (which we discovered (too late!) was not actually switched on). The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. But the doors seem to have suffered a bit of warping and do not close easily.
We ate in the restaurant, and (while quite pricey), the food was good quality, and the price certainly compared favourably with prices at the local pub, and were undoubtedly better.
You can walk to the "pancake rocks" and DoC visitor centre along the road, but it's a little too far to walk into the local village. We would stay again.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to get the best views
Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2020

My wife and I stayed in an Eco Room for two nights. First impressions were great when we pulled up and the location right on the beachfront is fantastic. The Eco Rooms are actually very nice - spacious, fantastic views, comfy bed, and the fittings seemed to be that little step up. But then you start to notice issues. Most of them were small, but there were just so many of them that caused us to think that this 'resort' is just a veneer and they have underlying maintenance issues. For example;

- microwave didn't work. To the 'resorts' credit, they did swap it out quickly once we managed to make contact with the front desk.
- the phones don't work.
- bathroom heater doesn't work
- bathroom sink drains very slowly
- chinese water torture (drip... drip... drip) from the cistern
- front door so badly adjusted that there are finger width gaps all around which let in the cold.
- room heater could not keep up (probably because of the gaps around the front door!!)
- no information at all in the room about the 'resort'.
- TV could only receive TV1 (badly), TV2, and Sky Sport 1.
- Fridge door did not shut properly.
- Front door handle so stiff my wife could not operate it.
- I do not like hotels (sorry, 'resorts') who give you tiny tea/coffee cups. Change them for mugs!!
- Sign said they are committed to the environment but there is no green waste bin, towels were changed daily, and they even gave us a fresh bar of soap and took away the old barely used one!!

I could go on and on, but you get the jist. Couple that with a very very expensive restaurant (you will pay Auckland city centre prices north of $40 for a main), and you start to feel $225 per night is too much. Plus there is a credit card surcharge - another pet hate of mine.

Come on Punakaiki 'Resort', fix your issues, do some maintenance, and actually make your place a 'resort' instead of a hotel cum motel.

Date of stay: May 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews