We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
204
305
173
67
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
305
173
67
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco suite across the road one night pancake rolls rooms are large little pricey the main hotel remote location new zealand great view both sides beach side road trip fish and chips sound of the waves great room pancake rocks and blowholes
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Stayed one night on our way through and it served the purpose. Had to air out the room as the age of the place and quality of construction don't leave a very nice smell (old and musty is probably the best description). Location was great right on the beach but it also was backed tight to the highway so the noise of passing vehicles was disturbing to the sleep and even shook the building sometimes. Not much else for choices to stay in town so this was OK under the circumstances once we got used to the old smell in the room.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IluvStBarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear IluvStBarts,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We do take on board your comments in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will be investigating into the smell concerns you have raised with our housekeeping team and taking necessary steps to eradicate any of this. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

We checked in at 4pm with an extremely offhand native NZ receptionist who informed us that we had to decide immediately whether and when we wanted to eat at the restaurant as there was just one slot at 6pm and then the next slot was at 8pm. We were so put off by her attitude that we decided to eat anywhere but the hotel. The room was fine but the bed linen smelt musty and the Wi-Fi terrible to non functioning. We were left with the sense of being ripped off as we were wanting to spend the night in a rather beautiful but touristy place. More broadly, I suspect all the local restaurants are average at best but there is no supermarket so you are stuck unless you bring your food with you or go on a 24 hour fast.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear LMSP,

We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us and hope to correct things for the future. We do normally recommend making a reservation with our restaurant as early as possible to avoid any disappointment; however, we apologize for seeming like we were rushing you. We will be speaking with our housekeeping in regards to the smell, but because we are a beach side property, this may have had an effect. Unfortunately, Punakaiki is a small town with no supermarket available. We do thank you for your time leaving your feedback and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Fox Glacier. The room was comfortably sized with a love seat chair and mini kitchen. However the room smelled musty and my husband had to fix the fan to end the irritating noise it was making. The internet was extremely slow and they prevented us from using it in the am even though checkout was 10 am. We arrived at 430 and they informed us no ability to use the restaurant before 8 pm as it was fully booked with tour groups. Considering the price we paid for this motel we do not think we got a fair deal. Buyer beware.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank pasweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear pasweet,

We do regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the Wi-Fi and have spoken to our supplier to investigate into any areas of low coverage and low speed. We do encourage guests to make a reservation in our restaurant as early as possible to avoid any disappointment. This is mentioned on all of our confirmations to travel agents and guests that book direct with us. Once again thank you for time taken to leave your feedback and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This place is so special. Right on a private beach, next to the Pancake Rocks. The rooms are great. You have an ocean view. The reception folks are wonderful, the beach itself has amazing rocks, horses from the local stable taking people for beach rides. And.., the restaurant- I had the best fish and chips of my life- Beer battered- the chips did not equal the fish- but just the same order it. Stay here!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank obewan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Really liked this place. A short 5 minute walk from the pancake rocks and blow holes (go at high tide). Hotel has rooms on either side of the main road with the main building being nearer the beach. We had a great sea view despite being on the more remote side of the road but would definitely recommend you get a sea view room because the rooms at ground level will be very limited in view terms and a bit close to any "wild life"

The restaurant was surprisingly good and we had a great view of the ocean. I say "surprising" because the service was shambolic..........sent the bill back 3 times to be corrected (because they undercharged me and I was only trying to be honest), staff were arguing with each other. and the restaurant manager gave a staff member a real dressing down outside the restaurant but in full view of half the restaurant.

Room tip: Sea view / Upstairs Room
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rourkemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear rourkemanchester,

Thank you for your review and your positive comments relating to our location and views. We do sincerely apologize for the service received in the restaurant and we have investigated into the matter concerning the restaurant manager and server to resolve how the mistake was made to ensure no re-occurrences. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews