We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Te Nikau Retreat(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Punakaiki Beach Camp(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hydrangea Cottages(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Punakaiki Beach Hostel(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Paparoa Park Motel(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Te Hui House(Punakaiki)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$49
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
201
295
170
66
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
295
170
66
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco suiteone nightacross the roadpancake rollsrooms are largelittle priceythe main hotelremote locationgreat view of the beachnew zealandtasman seaboth sidesbeach sidefish and chipssound of the wavespancake rocks and blowholessouth island
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Spent a night at the Punakaiki Resort on a road trip to Queenstown. The property is pretty isolated, but the coastal views are impeccable and the staff is super friendly. The room was comfy, but dated and the bathroom was a little moldy.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adamtheglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The Punakaiki Resort has been built between ocean and highway. We had a 'basic' room with ocean view. Most of these rooms have a small terrace where you can smell the see. Our room had no terrace but we had an extra window ...
It was really too warm in the room !
Fortunately we did not have to stay in a room with 'garden' view because these rooms are really a bit too close to the road ...
We were a bit disappointed by the quality of the meal : the soup was very good but the rest of the meal was just about average. The main course, lamb, was 'cooked' and not good at all.
We recommend a short visit to the ... men's toilet ... You will definitely 'smile' !
All-in-all an acceptable stay but it should be possible to turn this place into a real gem.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guy9120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Spent two nights here while exploring the spectacular coastline of western South Island. The grounds are landscaped to resemble a tropical island setting - many kinds of ferns, palms and flowers. Our room was across the highway and not directly on the beach, but we had a more scenic view of the coast and the main lodge than if we had had a beach side room; plus there was an underground tunnel walk that got us back and forth to the beach and lodge in a few minutes. Spacious rooms with great beds, a luxuriously designed bathroom, and sliding glass doors opening onto viewing balconies. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

One of the best places we stayed in nz. We stayed in the main lodge with a roaring fire and a really homely feel to it.

They have a track for a 10 minute walk to the beach (same beach as the truman track).

The only thing that nearly ruined my whole experience was the absence of coffee...then i remembered that i am british and there was free tea.

Great place.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed here on our travels through New Zealand. Sarah was very helpful from the moment we arrived. The setting was beautiful and the sunset was spectacular. We ate in the hotel and the food was lovely. A lovely place to spend a night.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gillyhicks2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews