We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$57
PricelineUS$57
Hotels.comUS$54
CheapTicketsUS$54
eDreamsUS$57
TravelocityUS$54
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
164
87
31
11
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
87
31
11
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen short walk rata lodge lavender room hot water bottles beautiful rainforest shared bathroom freshly baked bread small fee beautiful location cabin moana beach path lounge sea sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020

Took over the TeNikau lodge - aka converted bach, on the Friday.
Checkin was easy, friendly and efficient, and the lodge itself was private with great showers. Both large bedrooms upstairs were great & it was quiet and secluded.

Room tip: Take the walk to Truman beach after a sunny wakeup in the rooms on the top floor of TeNikau.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank karenandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami Krehan, General Manager at Te Nikau Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

Thank you very much for sharing your experience you had in Te Nikau Retreat. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2020

We stayed in the Tiro Moana room. It was basic but had everything we needed. Nice view from the patio of the ocean, can sit out here and enjoy the views. Located in a wooded area with a path you can take to walk down to the beach. See the sunset here! Bring bug spray: there were black flies down by the water. If you don't have any they sell it too. Option for freshly baked bread, butter, eggs, coffee for a small fee down in the kitchen area. It was convenient to see the Pancake Rocks. The office staff were all welcoming and friendly.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O3946EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami Krehan, General Manager at Te Nikau Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Thanks for this awesome review!! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2020

I attended a wellness retreat over the weekend. My room was private with a shared bathroom. There was plenty of room in the kitchen and lounge for 8 people to be comfortable. The bird life was amazing and the walk to the sea cliffs is not long.

Room tip: I went as a retreat participant, so don’t know the cost of the room exactly
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank vickik232
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami Krehan, General Manager at Te Nikau Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2020

Thanks for your great review, Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2020 via mobile

Accommodation options are relatively limited in Punakaiki. Chose this place based on the location and the price. I booked for a single private room. Was upgraded to a double private room (Lavender room in Rata Lodge) as the single private room building was closed.
Pros: beautiful rainforest setting and only a short walk to a stunning beach.
Cons: The room smelled damp. The house was also a bit dated and sound traveled well throughout the house.
In short, will probably stay here again however would probably opt for one of the private cabins.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank HelenaT975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami Krehan, General Manager at Te Nikau Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Hi Helena,

Thanks for this great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding nature.
You'll be happy to hear that we, the new owners since April 2020, are working on upgrading and maintaining all buildings in the Retreat. It's a slow process given the circumstances - but we're getting there :)
Hope to welcome you here some time again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2020

Great location to stay at. We were in the lavender room in the Rata lodge, the room had plenty of room and was very clean. The shared kitchen was well equipped and fairly big. The staff were very nice, and recommended us to walk down to the beach for the sunset, great advice! Definitely get down there if you can on your trip! Only a 10min walk from the lodge.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackboonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tami Krehan, General Manager at Te Nikau Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Hi Jack,

So happy to hear that your enjoyed you stay with us and loved the sunset :) it's definitely one of the highlights here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews