We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Family Base”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Puddletown, Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shelley P
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Family Base”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed over the Easter break as it was close to friend of ours that live in Dewlish . The cottage was well equipped and spacious. We have a 6yr old girls and a 14yr old boy so it was great for them each to have their own bedrooms and shower room.
Athough the cottage is in a quiet location i'ts easy to get to most places from on average 15/20 minutes away. Such as The Tank Museum - Monkey World - Lulworth Cove/Castle - Weymouth & Dorchester.
The only downside is there is NO small shop in Tolpuddle village, not even a General Store, The nearest shop is in Puddletown 4 miles on in the next village - so planning shopping for the week is a must as the main shopTesco is off the main bypass towards Dorchester or there is a small Sainsburys in Wareham - 30 minutes away.
The cottage itself is great and you can connect to free-wifi via the owners details that they give you. It is a bit intermittent due to the countryside location but at least you can pick up emails etc for work if required.
The kitchen and bathrooms were clean , modern and well equipped and the bedrooms spacious. The only shortfalls were the Master bedroom mattress was a bit uncomfortable as was quite thin , there were no spare blankets given (could have left a couple in the empty blanket boxes or in the wardrobes), the coat hangers were plastic and a bit bendy so couldn't hang trousers etc, (even my daughters clothes bent the hangers) so we folded and left on the shelf of the wardrobes. It was also a bonus in the cottage having a downstairs WC (for the younger ones) as a lot of the older cottages don't have this.
There is a lovely log burner in the lounge and a "starter" pack is given. This lasted us one evening, so if you stay in the cooler months its best to collect a few logs from the farm shop on the way in to the cottage ( it was closed over the Easter weekend) but we went back on the Monday & it was open so picked up a couple of bags for around £10.
The cottage allows 1x dog (must be kept downstairs) we do have a Jack Russell but we left her at home with family. The owners of the property are on site next door and have a variety of 5 dogs and there are horses on the premises. The dogs run loose and are all friendly so if you take your dog you need to be mindful of this.
Overall it is a lovely cottage in a good location and would stay again & would recommend to others etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: master bedroom mattress was a bit uncomfortable.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Easter stay at The Hayloft, thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us all. What a treat it must have been for your children to have their own room AND shower room! Holidays are all about treats after all! It sounds like you got out and about to explore all that the surrounding area had to offer - Monkey World sounds like loads of fun! We certainly hope that you book a return visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJF100
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Highly recommended cottage”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Hayloft is a tastefully decorated and well furnished cottage with lovely countryside views tucked away in a quiet spot on the edge of Tolpuddle. The cottage offers excellent self catering facilities and is in a good location for exploring Dorset. There is an enclosed child/ dog friendly garden at the rear. No local shops in the village, but there is a good pub/ restaurant (The Martyrs Inn) about 10 minutes walk away. Two of the three double bedrooms were a bit on the small side (for doubles) but perfectly okay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The actual cottage and it's quiet location .
Liked least: Intermittent WIFI connection. More of an observation and not a complaint.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Hayloft. It is always wonderful to have a warm and well equipped base to come home to after exploring all that Dorset has to offer, and even better to relax taking in those countryside views! We certainly hope you return again in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORNWALL
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ecrouch9
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal for New Year”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Superb property with everything we needed and very good owners who left us alone unless we needed help
One of the nicest properties we have so far rented
Lovely countryside and handy to travel to all Dorset has to offer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacp1515
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a very pretty village with lots to do nearby.”
Reviewed 27 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at The Hayloft.
The cottage is beautifully furnished, not like a typical holiday rental quality at all.
We travelled with 2 youngish children and my older mum and the cottage suited us all - having 3 ensuite loos plus a downstairs toilet was a real bonus.
Just a small thing - if you're taking a telly fan, the tv has very limited channels. There is a dvd player there though and we were so busy out enjoying the area it didn't matter to us.
the garden is fully enclosed and safe for the dog and we we found the whole area to be really doggy friendly - including the pub 5 mins walk away that served lovely food and the stately home (Athelhampton House) down the road.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing