We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (484)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
189
231
50
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
231
50
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango trees french colony aurobindo ashram french quarter heritage hotel old french villa walking distance standard room would highly recommend this hotel stone's throw the hotel staff white town value for money deluxe rooms antique furniture mini bar promenade beach
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Situated in the Heart of the French Quarter / White Town, its a Lovely Place, Architecturally appealing with very cute and interesting interiors. Near-by to all major places of interest - Rock Beach, Promenade beach, the famous air-conditioned temple (forgot the name), Aurobindo Ashram, all major food joints, the famous Zuka Bakery, etc. Suruguru and Auro-boutique were bang opposite to the property.

The Food was also very nice with a decent variety of dishes and sea food to choose from. Complimentary breakfast was also ok.

Most importantly, we were very pleased with the hospitality here. The manager was very kind enough to give us a free upgrade for the room we booked. He offered us a room which had a mezzanine floor with an extra bedding for our kid to sleep. The room had a lovely character with a good selection of antique furniture.

Everything here has been restored well and has been maintained nicely (even though it is difficult to maintain in Indian Climatic conditions, specially the wooden doors, ceiling, etc)
Main feature of the hotel is the Staircase painted in yellow / orange leading to the Terrace and also the Mango Trees inside the hotel premises.

Value for money and worth staying and experiencing the colonial touch.

Room tip: Rooms with a mezzanine floor are interesting with double height windows and doors and good for a couple with kid
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TravelloManiac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We visited Pondicherry for a relaxed holiday, chose this hotel based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. The location of the hotel is it’s USP. The facilities are available but basic and a great value for money. The breakfast is fairly sufficient with Idli, fruits, fresh juice, bread, cornflakes, eggs to order, croissant. We stayed in room 4 which is on the ground floor and there is an attic which I found very cute which can be used by children to sleep and play. The front office people were very helpful and give accurate information.
The Raj Bhavan is also a 3 min walk and the beach 5 mins. Don’t happen to depend on auto or cars. We walked and visited all the Ashram departments ( collect the brochure and map from Information centre which is 10 mins walk)
My only wish is the owners should upgrade the infrastructure of the property and give better toiletries and a electric kettle - it would be perfect.
However, this is not for honeymooners or luxury travellers

Room tip: Choose room away from the entrance to avoid noise from the road
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NitaK145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Stayed here with my husband in March this year (2018) we loved this hotel so much we would have stayed longer. The room we had was room number 10, a delux room. The room was very big with its own beautiful bathroom and balcony. The furnishings in this room are beautiful. The curtains are silk and the bedding is pure Egyptian cotton. The room has air conditioning and a ceiling fan. There's a mini bar that is well stocked with soft drinks and alcohol all of which are reasonably priced. Bottled water is offered complimentry. The floors are tiled which help in keeping the room cool and clean. Pure white cotton towels are in the bathroom as well as toothpaste,toothbrushes,soaps and shampoos. There's a television in the room.The bed is the most comfortable bed and largest bed I have ever slept in.Breakfast was included in our stay and that too was very good and served from 7.30am till 10am We dropping in on this hotel on the off chance of getting a room after another hotel didn't live up to what we expected. The man on the reception of Hotel du Parc was extremely helpful and reassuring. He let us look at a few rooms and then left us to decide if we wanted to stay or not. He wasn't at all pushy. During our stay, my husband got sick. I must make it clear that this was NOT caused from eating at this Hotel but was caused from eating at a little cafe on the sea front. During my husband's sickness, the staff really looked after us bringing us black tea with lemon on the side and plenty of water and advice on what to do to get well quickly. Within a day or so, my husband was back on his feet. The staff at this Hotel are very professional and welcoming and are room was cleaned to an extremely hih standard every day and smelled wonderful when we returned. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we visited Pondicherry again. We'd like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff for making our stay so very very spacial.

Room tip: We loved room 10 it was very quiet in room 10
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AlfieBearGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Our room, while small, was well appointed and comfortable. Bed was comfy and AC ran very cold which is much needed in Pondicherry. No hot water for showers wasn't great but was warm enough not to make you scream. The location looked dubious when we arrived in the night but turned out to be lively and convenient. There is no hotel parking so if you drive here, you will be parking on the street. Breakfast was a but barren and the majority of the things on the menu were not available but we managed. Dinner at the restaraunt was quite nice however with a fairly wide selection. Hotel staff were a bit slow when asked for or to do things but were friendly and eventually came through. Everything moves at a very languid pace in the heat anyway. Great place for the price. Would stay again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Climber764629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Being a third timer to this hotel,they never fail to please me even a single time with their hospitality and courteous behaviour.
The location, rooms and restaurant is definitely worth a try.
It is one of the best possible heritage hotels in town.Very courteous staff,clean rooms, good ambience and food and to top it off its only 7 mins away from the beach!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sweta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews