We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
278
272
108
52
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
272
108
52
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood house garden room fun restaurant tower house cow milking organic food organic farm bay watch private beach swimming pool shallow end main restaurant close to nature non ac tamil nadu ac room beautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We stayed in the Wood house. The room was nice and spacious. I'd like to point out a few of things about the stay:
1. The wood house 2, that we stayed in had really slippery floors. I wouldn't be surprised if all wood rooms had similar flooring. With my 4 year olds it was quiet crazy.
2. The food was great, but the restaurant was full of house flies. If you are travelling with kids and they kinds that run around, you are going to have fun protecting your food.It really quiet bad.
3. The pool was quiet small, was expecting a larger pool. If you travelling with kids make sure you carry their arm bands and floating rings. There is none available at the pool.

The good part: A lot of space to play for the kids to run around and play. The food was quiet good. We had a good time as it was a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ra5819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

This was our first vacation with Max (our dog son) and we really had an AWESOME experience.

The booking process was very smooth with clear communication over emails. As we reached we were helped by chakrapani to unload our luggage while we were getting Max used to the place. We were showed around the resort and checked into our room - the Nawabi house - so IDEAL for our stay with Max. It is closed compound so once we lock the outside door, we were totally by ourselves. There was a big garden, a lotus pond and lot of open area. Max could roam around the entire big place and he checked out every corner of the place and ran around happily. Room service was good. Hotel Managr Umapati did his best to make us happy. We were there to celebrate our weddign anniversary and they made us feel very special by decorating an entire table for dinner and offered a sweet cake. Staff members also gifted us a poster that was signed by all of them wishing us. It was really sweet. Umapati guided us when we went out to for sightseeing. They have an awesome pool that opens up to the beach. Beach is completely private and we had it for ourselves all through. It is clean and neat and we can play there until late in the night. They also cooked food for Max which he thoroughly enjoyed (slightly overpriced but didnt mind as he liked it). Their drink menu is very expensive considering it is pondicherry it almost matches Bangalore 3 star hotel rates. The restaurant served some great food and we had malai kofta curry that tasted out of the world. It was tailor made for our specifications. People are very courteous and helpful and Max totally loved the vacation. They also have their dog Soori around the place who is super cute and nice.

Thank you Dune you made us more confident to take out Max more often and we would really come back to your resort with Max again.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank MythriDwarakanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

This is the 2nd time, we're coming here. The 1st time around was a GREAT experience. The Baywatch House was awesome- spacious with a large PRIVATE lawn, hammock & deck chairs. It was sea-facing so the 'nature cooled' room was bearable in the evening. We could sit out even in the hot afternoons & enjoy a drink. You can actually get a glimpse of the sea from the raised cottage verandah. Last year- October 2014- we could take our dog even to the restaurant area (there are seats outside the actual dining areas, where people with dogs on leashes could sit & enjoy a leisurely meal/drink).

Last year, inspite of the non- a/c room & the thatched rooms there were no millipedes or creepy crawlies crawling into the bed or falling on us. Mosquitoes were plentiful of course, so carry lots of mosquito repellent. The resort provides these but its best to carry mosquito repellent creams or spray-ons.

*Please AVOID Bamboo House 3*. We went back thinking we'll get a similar 'eco' experience. This time not only did we hang around for 30 minutes to get checked- in (inspite of booking online, paying advance AND talking to the resort). We were told we could take the dog to the eating areas!!!! Since it was already 2:30pm & restaurant closes at 3pm, we were graciously allowed to take the dog along & sit outside & eat.

But the Bamboo House 3 HAS NO PRIVACY. We could hear our neighbours whispering to each other!!! I'm sure they figured out that they could hear us much before as we were talking at normal volume. The 'lawn' isn't private, anyone can see us we lie on the hammock.

Point to be noted:- This resort has a lot of dogs roaming around, including one belonging to the owner/manager (no one is willing to confirm exactly what position this mysterious being occupies). The management must be aware that no one can leave a pet, especially a dog, in an unknown place & saunter off to enjoy ourselves.

Many of us, who'd brought our dogs with us, were forced to babysit our dogs while family members took turns eating at the restaurant. Room service has a limited number of dishes & it's not tempting to sit in a dingy room & eat with millipedes and centipedes dropping in or crawling all over your bed. The alternative is to sit outside where everyone passing by can see you crouching over at the coffee table- the millipedes will get you anyway.

It's a great place for foreigners who want to get a taste of India but not for us Indians who experience power-cuts - sweaty nights & creepy- crawlies in our daily life.

Why I chose this place- It was tagged 'pet - friendly' by people who recommended this place. The first time we had a great time- our dog tagged along with us everywhere & created no problems. The ONLY reason why we'd think of spending approximately Rs. 7000 on non- a/c rooms is because of the 'pet-friendly' policy. With no way of keeping the dog safe (except locking her up in the room, which beats the purpose of bringing a dog along) while we went to eat or swim- this wasn't the greatest experience for the money we spent.

The staff was apologetic, but that can only do so much for a small family who ends up eating in turns because we don't want to upset the neighbours with an upset pet.

PLEASE NOTE- This resort has experience with dogs, so they are well aware of pet behaviour. They can't expect to have a 'pet-friendly' policy with no other way of keeping pets safe- even the lawn is open & pets can run off. There's no place where a dog can be tied up even for a short while. After all, they can't expect patrons to confine their children to the rooms because 'some other guests complained'.

Room Tip: Go for the experience only if you love getting close to nature. Check their 'pet- friendly' policies.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveThePoolLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

This is my 3rd time here and second in family house. It's an amazing resort if you want to do nothing and relax. Please understand that this is an eco resort in middle of nature and hence you will see worms, wasps, monkeys. But isn't that the whole point?

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank VRMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

We had stayed in Dune for more then we have visted pondichery. We loved the nights especially and the walk all over the resort is so good, calm, peaceful and serene. I loved the pool which is placed exactly near the beach entrance which helps u take a quick shower and jump into the pool again :). Its a pet friendly resort. So you can have a treat for your furry kids aswell. I have been to every villa they had from tower house to baywatch. Its an extrvagant beutiful place, the staff is very gentle and helping. Everything is grown and cooked is organic here. So many activities they arranged to keep everyone involved cowing, catmaren ride, pottery and many more. I love this place. Everything they offer in Fun restuarant is super delicious and cooked delightely to serve everyones's taste. The manager umapathi is very humble and nice and always welcoming and adoring to the guests. Its a beutiful place for a family, couple, pets and even for solo to enjoy.

Stayed: April 2015
3  Thank Rhythm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews