We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
346
206
54
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
206
54
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white town chocolate mousse french quarter inner courtyard boutique hotel junior suite prawns indian food shower area lunch dinner the ground floor old world charm first floor french colony special thanks visiting pondicherry front office
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

I would have happily rated this hotel as a five but it is a victim of its own success. As well as a hotel it is also the busiest restaurant in town. As the restaurant is the common area of the hotel, it is difficult to find space in the evening and service can be slow because of demand.

The building is restored in a contemporary style whilst paying respect to the building's heritage. The bedrooms are simply but well furnished with an excellent shower.

We turned up early morning after an overnight flight from Europe and were offered complimentary breakfast while they checked that our room was ready.

Friendly staff, comfortable accommodation and good food. The accommodation is a bit on the expensive side but a great place to stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

It's a chic little place with lovely use of local materials and crafts. The restaurant serves nicely plated food, typically a modern twist on Indian standards, everything we ate was fresh and tasty.
Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated, the bed was comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.
I would stay and eat at Villa Shanti again without any hesitation.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This place has its own charm and one can visit the place alone, with family or couples. The food quality and taste was excellent. Since there is no AC afternoon visit would be not comfortable in summers. Evenings it is pleasant.The place is very close to Aurobindo Ashram.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank opinion4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

went this this place for dinner.had to wait for 1 hour and later waited for drinks.services was very slow.food was fusion and it was tasty.we ordered a pitcher of Margarita and was charged 1500 which i felt was over priced

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 901aditia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We ate here a couple of times when we were in Pondicherry and it was easy to see why so many people are attracted to this hotel. Situated centrally in the French Quarter, Villa Shanti has a bright, airy feel to it. It is built around a wonderful courtyard where they serve food and desserts (a must try!) and the staff are attentive, friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent as well.

We thought it was a brilliant hotel.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Gooner3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews