We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good value, great location, will return.”

Review of Playa Bastian A40

Lovely views over the pool to the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely views over the pool to the sea
Light spacious apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Lovely views over the pool to the sea
Light spacious apartment
Comfortable sitting room with TV and DVD player
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Safe for your valuables
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kerrymha
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value, great location, will return.”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This apartment is in a lovely complex, great location and good value for money. The apartment was clean, well equipped and had all we needed for a lovely stay. No issues and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks so much for taking the time and trouble to write.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Annual Family Holiday”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We would recommend if you are considering booking this apartment you read our review and photographs before making your final decision.
The apartment and its contents are very tired - certainly not the "recently refurbished" as stated on the Holiday Lettings website. Here's what to expect :
The key box that you will need to access at the front door to get the door key is old & broken - if we hadn't had a pen on us to enable us to push the lever down, I'm not sure how we would have got the key for the apartment.
The door & windows were obviously old and in need of replacement - many other apartments on Playa Bastian have had the doors & windows replaced - despite this apartment being advertised as "recently refurbished" they were seriously in need of some tidying up........didn't get a good feeling about what we would face when we got into the apartment. They were also thick with dust & hadn't been cleaned for quite a while.....you could hardly see out of the bedroom windows.
Here's what we did find :
Floor's - not clean....in fact they were thick with dust.
Wardrobes - lots of old/unused bedding screwed up in a ball on the shelves....so plenty of hanging space but nowhere really to put any folded clothes - we left our's in our cases for the 2 weeks.....much cleaner option.
Bedding - the 2 singles looked fine & seemed pretty clean. The double was less than clean & actually looked/smelled as though someone had slept in it & it hadn't been cleaned since they had left. We spent the first day of our holiday washing the bedding on the double bed. On removing the pillow cases the pillows were old & stained. Double bed - absolutely on it's last legs......breath & it creaks very loudly!!! That said when I took the sheets off to wash them - the mattress did look new/clean.
Kitchen - the cups were the worst we have ever seen. Very stained & one had some old/dried food on the side of it. Kettle - again had dried food on the top of it - hadn't been cleaned. Toast er - old & very black on the top.
Sofa - very stained....didn't actually sit on it for the 2 week stay.
Balcony - furniture very old & tired. Used ashtray on the window sill. Worst/oldest furniture we have seen on any balcony in the numerous apartments we have stayed at on Playa Bastian.
Bathrooms - shower in en suite ok but very small. Shower in family bathroom - pretty mouldy round the shower tray. The cistern on the toilet in the family bathroom runs constantly - you need to shut the the door through the night or you can hear it.
Washing machine - ok....but it's a top loader & there's a note on the top telling you not to put anymore than 2 bath towels in at a time as it will break down.
We were very lucky with the weather....very hot. We were unlucky in the fact that there was no fan in the apartment......very warm & had to leave the windows open to cool down.
We also had 2 visits from cockroaches.....which I think is unusual in a top floor apartment.
Honestly, we have travelled to many different places over the years & we have stayed at Playa Bastian many times over the last 20 years. This is the first negative review we have written but we feel very strongly that this apartment is not "newly refurbished" as stated and definitely not worth the £790 we paid for the 2 week stay......there was only 2 of us staying but it's definitely over priced even for 4 people.
See photo's attached.
A gift from us - we bought 2 new cups from one of the shops in town on our first night out so we could have a coffee in a clean cup the next morning.....the best 4 euros spent....we left the cups so if you do book the apartment - enjoy!
We did complain on our first day - as a result the apartment did get a decent clean & the bedding on the double bed was replaced at our request. We would have preferred to move to alternative accommodation but there were no options.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thanks for your feedback. As you know we responded immediately to your initial concerns and despite the fact that our cleaners are not in the habit of leaving floors un-mopped or beds unchanged between guests(!!!) - we did send two different cleaners in the very next morning and supplied brand new linen. We take on board about the key safe and that will be changed this week, we will supply fans in future and look at the balcony furniture again. The sign on the washing machine should read DO NOT OVERLOAD and this has led a few times this year to expensive repairs being necessary. It has been disturbing to read a negative review among all the positive ones but stand by both our preparation and pricing - the apartment we believe offers good value for money.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean B
Grimsby
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in an idea location”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Yes,what a lovely apartment. The balcony is a sun trap! Ideal after the morning walk/coffee/lunch! Just relax. The apartment is very well equipped. Very clean,comfortable beds.plenty of towels. If you want to watch English channels( which came in handy due to cold weather) you can. Ha ha. Don't watch much television at home but if needs must! Playa Bastian is in the very best location.Linda and Lori are stars who made sure every thing was okay. Thanks ladies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location. What more does one need ?
Liked least: 3 cold days. Not the apartments fault!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for this lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzy2305
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ideal location, would recommend”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was our first visit to Costa Teguise so didn't know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. After couple of days looking around the area, we were pleased with the location. Playa Bastian complex is ideally situated being only 15 minute walk to the main shopping/restaurant area. Apartment A40 is a bit tired and dated and the double bed was very creaky but the whole place was very clean. Loved the views from our balcony, overlooking the pools and the sea and it was also a real suntrap. It was great having having beach and bath towels supplied. Would have liked a docking station for phone/music. Wifi not a problem as could get at the Reception area or in most bars where they advised wifi. Found the best little local Spanish restaurants in Playa Bastian, would recommend these rather than walking into the main area. A lot of these restaurants were recommended on Trip Advisor. Money can be exchanged in local shops, but check the rate outside compared to inside. I did get slightly more there than back Home. One word of advice.......bring more clothes (cardigans, coats, trousers as opposed to dresses) for evening as it goes really really cold at night. Would definitely like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write this review. Pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel T
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment on a great complex close to all amenities.”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic apartment, Linda was really helpful. The apartment is close to all amenities and you are just a short stroll from the beach and the resort centre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Lovely to read Rachel, glad you had a fab time and thanks for taking the time and trouble to write.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing