We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and great customer service!”
Review of El Maestro

El Maestro
Ranked #66 of 178 Restaurants in Costa Teguise
Price range: US$6 - US$41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant that offers stunning ocean views and a formidable terrace where you can enjoy breakfast , lunch and dinner in good company with a quick and friendly profesional service. Kids menu available to meet the needs of families. All kinds of meats, vegetarian meals and also offers pizzas and pastas, burgers and a variety of Spanish tapas.Some typical foods of the Canary Islands.. A wide range of local and international wines are available. You can enjoy a variety of cocktails from our extensive menu
Reviewed 21 May 2022

We recently visited El Maestro on 2 occasions. Both times, we received excellent customer service from very attentive staff. One of the young waiters made such an effort with our 2 children, which meant a lot to us. The food was delicious! And the place had a great ambience. The duck cannelloni starter was absolutely delicious. Would definitely recommend dining here.

Date of visit: May 2022
2  Thank Celsbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Thanks a lot for your kind words to our restaurant!

Hopefully we can see you again in a future! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,759)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 2,759 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2022

Good and bad . Decor beautiful, staff really friendly

Food.
Steak was requested as medium rare but it was blue
The yaki chicken starter has a weird flavour
Chicken kebab just okay
Not enough veg etc as sides
Duck starter lovely

Overall I would say you can get better food for better value elsewhere but cannot fault the staff

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank lynashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2022 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on recommendation. Wish I hadn’t listened. The steak was like rubber inedible. Meal was returned and replaced but not with what we asked for, by then the kids had eaten and we had given up on having any nice food. Tried to complain but it was a waste of time and the staff still tried to charge for steak. Steak was removed from the bill but not easily.

To many customers not enough staff.

Better food at smaller local restaurants

Date of visit: April 2022
1  Thank bodhi415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2022

Hello,

Thanks for letting us know your thoughts of what it looks like a bad experience for you.

We´re really sorry and we´ll take this comment for consideration so we can keep improving day by day.

Hopefully you can give us a second chance in the future.

Thanks a lot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2022

Visited here on recommendations and very pleased . I have eaten a lot of belly pork all over Europe and this one was the best. Staff very attentive and the place was spotless.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 4ChrisG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2022

Thanks a lot for your nice review!

We are really happy that you loved our belly pork :)

Hoping to see you again in a future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2022

Visited this restaurant for tapas and was welcomed and served by friendly staff from start to finish. Nice complementary welcome drink and helpful advice regarding how many tapas was best for two people. When it turned cooler during the evening the staff ensured a heater was lit and in close proximity to make sitting outside comfortable and pleasant. Food was ample and if good quality as was the sangria. Would have been five circle rating had it not been for the overcharging on the bill. Paying for a tapas that was ordered but they didn’t have available however we were charged for this tapas and didn’t realise until the bill was paid. At nine euros for the tapas it was an expensive mistake. Although a genuine mistake it should have been struck from the order and bill when they realised the dish was no longer available. Top tip then is to ensure you check your bill and only pay for what you received.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2022

Hello Andy,

First of all, thanks a lot for all your kind words. We´re really glad that you enjoyed your time with us!

And second, we would like to say sorry for the bill error.

It´s not something that often happens, but of course, since we are all humans it can happen.

If there is something we could do please let us.

THANKS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Maestro also viewed

Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 
Costa Teguise, Lanzarote
 

Been to El Maestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.