We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.”
Review of Spice Grill

Spice Grill
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Kaeo
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Spice grill is located on the main high street of Kaeo in the Far North. The Spice Grill is next door to the Kaeo Dairy below Sabbis Backpackers. The Spice Grill is owner operated and is well known in the region for its high quality traditional North Indian style cuisine and friendly atmosphere. The Spice grill also serves the local community a basic fish and chip menu alongside the takeaway menu.
Restaurant details
Description: Spice grill is located on the main high street of Kaeo in the Far North. The Spice Grill is next door to the Kaeo Dairy below Sabbis Backpackers. The Spice Grill is owner operated and is well known in the region for its high quality traditional North Indian style cuisine and friendly atmosphere. The Spice grill also serves the local community a basic fish and chip menu alongside the takeaway menu.
Reviewed 21 September 2019

The food is lovely and so are the staff. Only shame is we'll probably just get takeaways now as last our dining experience was not enjoyable. They have changed the lighting so that now some of the lights shine down right in diners faces (should be adjusted to the wall) and they have started burning alot of insense. It's a bit overpowering and not necessary. Affects the senses and good enjoyment. Curry smells are delicious no need to mask it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jabberwocky73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2019

Passed this little place several times but stopped for the first time. Great service, variety on menu and authentic taste. Usually Indian food in restaurants all over NZ seems to taste the same. However, this tiny place is different. Tried the Kaeo special chicken curry which was yummy. Conveniently located on SH 10

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

Such a tasty curry, all cooked fresh to order! Greeted by the smiling front of house who was happy to advise on the choice of dishes. Quick service and a nice buzz in the restaurant with takeaways and locals dining in. Butter chicken was fab as was the mango chicken, and the naan. The restaurant is nice to sit in - very unpretentious and cozy as it fills up with locals over the evening. We happily dined here after a day of surfing in Karikari. Highly recommend this place! :)

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank EmmKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2019 via mobile

Always come back to this wonderful place, great range of dishes and cultural flare, unique location. Always look forward to coming down to this place each time and trying something different. Wonderful manager Sabbii who always checks in to see how things are going. Definitely trying some of the Pakoras and Mango Lassie while you are here.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank joshhillnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

Had a great couple of take aways from here. Tasty meat and veggie curries, amazing naan and good service.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Spice Grill also viewed

Whangaroa, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 
Whangaroa, Northland Region
 

Been to Spice Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.