We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
58
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
58
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whangaroa harbour homemade pasta stefano lindsay kitchen track
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2021

This farm stay is simply wonderful! Lyndsey welcomes you with open arms into her gorgeous kauri farmhouse, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. From there you could spend days exploring locally, I only had 2 days but can't wait to go back for longer to do the local walks and enjoy the deck and garden. Haven't had such a happy stay for a while! Totally recommend.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2020

We have had the pleasure to stay at the Kahoe Farm Hostel in January 2020. What a lovely place! Nice rooms, comfortable beds, spacious bathroom, good kitchen, warm welcome.
The building looks really nice and the surroundings are beautiful!
Next to that, the owner is a professional chef, who likes to surprise his guests with delicious meals for a reasonable price.
Kahoe Farm Hostel is located close to Paihia, where you can book sailing tours. Also a good starting point to visit Cape Reinga.
A great place!! We would have loved to stay much longer!

Date of stay: January 2020
2  Thank Knallemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2019 via mobile

Recommendation from other Travellers. From word of mouth and their web site we never checked for another place to stay up in Northland. Booked a Private Room with shared bath and got a room with en suite bath. A few hundred meters from the SH 10 away u hear nothing but wind, birds and cows. Pure tranquility. We stayed for 4 nights to avoid hostel changes every night and there is so much to do that a week's stay is possible without getting bored. Cape Reinga is within 1.5 hrs. drive. Their Rock Pools on the property worth the hike. The hospitality of Lindsey and Stefano is outstanding. Whole different level of hostelling. Expect no party but home cooked food, nice conversation, a well equipped kitchen for the ones that prefer to cook their own food. Join in if Stefano calls for a soccer game in KAHEO Stadium.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HenningInOL26121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2019

If you are touring Northland, be sure to include one or more nights' stay at Kahoe Farms in your itinerary. Owned and operated by friendly hosts Lyndsey & Stefano, my stay here turned out to be one of the highlights of my trip. Yes, the location is some distance away from buzzing town centres, but there are actually a lot of things to do here, from checking out the farm, hiking the Lane Cove track (only if you're fit enough), to driving along the very scenic Matauri Bay, just to give a few examples. You can also make this a base for visiting Cape Reinga and Ninety Mile Beach.

Although listed as a backpackers, the accommodation is actually a lovely house with only a few rooms (one of them is the dorm), so the feeling is more like a B&B (indeed, the breakfast is great - try the pancakes!). The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen is large and well-equipped enough to cook a feast. In the warmer months, I imagine they get busy so you would need to book ahead.

When the pasta/pizza dinner is on offer, take it - it's arguably the best Italian food you'll likely to get in many miles' radius. He's also a soccer fan and coaches the local team, so if you're into soccer this is a bonus point and you might even see a match if there's one on.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Beautiful hostel that is more like a 4* hotel! Stefano cooks the best Italian food that you can eat in the beautiful garden with views on the green rolling hills. The hosts offer a lot of interesting information about the area!
Quite far away from villages, but you do get the beautiful country side.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sannelars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews