We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Karen O
Chamonix, France
Wonderful hosts in a beautiful farm house
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Apr 2021
This farm stay is simply wonderful! Lyndsey welcomes you with open arms into her gorgeous kauri farmhouse, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. From there you could spend days exploring locally, I only had 2 days but can't wait to go back for longer to do the local walks and enjoy the deck and garden. Haven't had such a happy stay for a while! Totally recommend.
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
15.5 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Balcony/Terrace
Booking.com
    10.2 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
    Booking.com
      16.5 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
      Comfort and Style
      Booking.com
      $260
      Fully refundable
      • Vio.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      • Lol.travel
      5.2 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View over Harbour from upstairs room.
      Booking.com
      $196
      Fully refundable
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      • eDreams
        $196
      5.6 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Expedia.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Official Site
        $3,080
      • Hotels.com
        $3,261
      • Booking.com
        $3,623
      21.9 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      44.7 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      31.7 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      31.2 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Kaeo
      Reviews (62)
      Filter reviews
      62 results
      Traveller rating
      58
      4
      0
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      58
      4
      0
      0
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews whangaroa harbour homemade pasta stefano lindsay kitchen track
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      4 - 9 of 62 reviews
      Reviewed 10 February 2020

      We have had the pleasure to stay at the Kahoe Farm Hostel in January 2020. What a lovely place! Nice rooms, comfortable beds, spacious bathroom, good kitchen, warm welcome.
      The building looks really nice and the surroundings are beautiful!
      Next to that, the owner is a professional chef, who likes to surprise his guests with delicious meals for a reasonable price.
      Kahoe Farm Hostel is located close to Paihia, where you can book sailing tours. Also a good starting point to visit Cape Reinga.
      A great place!! We would have loved to stay much longer!

      Date of stay: January 2020
      2  Thank Knallemans
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 3 December 2019 via mobile

      Recommendation from other Travellers. From word of mouth and their web site we never checked for another place to stay up in Northland. Booked a Private Room with shared bath and got a room with en suite bath. A few hundred meters from the SH 10 away u hear nothing but wind, birds and cows. Pure tranquility. We stayed for 4 nights to avoid hostel changes every night and there is so much to do that a week's stay is possible without getting bored. Cape Reinga is within 1.5 hrs. drive. Their Rock Pools on the property worth the hike. The hospitality of Lindsey and Stefano is outstanding. Whole different level of hostelling. Expect no party but home cooked food, nice conversation, a well equipped kitchen for the ones that prefer to cook their own food. Join in if Stefano calls for a soccer game in KAHEO Stadium.

      Date of stay: December 2019
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      1  Thank HenningInOL26121
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 7 July 2019

      If you are touring Northland, be sure to include one or more nights' stay at Kahoe Farms in your itinerary. Owned and operated by friendly hosts Lyndsey & Stefano, my stay here turned out to be one of the highlights of my trip. Yes, the location is some distance away from buzzing town centres, but there are actually a lot of things to do here, from checking out the farm, hiking the Lane Cove track (only if you're fit enough), to driving along the very scenic Matauri Bay, just to give a few examples. You can also make this a base for visiting Cape Reinga and Ninety Mile Beach.

      Although listed as a backpackers, the accommodation is actually a lovely house with only a few rooms (one of them is the dorm), so the feeling is more like a B&B (indeed, the breakfast is great - try the pancakes!). The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen is large and well-equipped enough to cook a feast. In the warmer months, I imagine they get busy so you would need to book ahead.

      When the pasta/pizza dinner is on offer, take it - it's arguably the best Italian food you'll likely to get in many miles' radius. He's also a soccer fan and coaches the local team, so if you're into soccer this is a bonus point and you might even see a match if there's one on.

      Date of stay: June 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank SpiceNSpruce
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 18 February 2019

      Beautiful hostel that is more like a 4* hotel! Stefano cooks the best Italian food that you can eat in the beautiful garden with views on the green rolling hills. The hosts offer a lot of interesting information about the area!
      Quite far away from villages, but you do get the beautiful country side.

      Date of stay: January 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Location
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank sannelars
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

      This was an incredible stay! Between the divine views and animals and the wonderful hospitality this was truly one of the highlights of the Northland for me.
      Lyndsey and Stefano were so kind and welcoming and they have a very clean beautiful place.
      I loved the adorable pigs and sheep. My only regret was only staying one night and not longer.
      Many blessings to you guys!! Xx

      Date of stay: November 2018
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      Thank Megan D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews