We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
HenningInOL26121
Oldenburg, Germany
What a fantastic hostel!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Dec 2019via mobile
Recommendation from other Travellers. From word of mouth and their web site we never checked for another place to stay up in Northland. Booked a Private Room with shared bath and got a room with en suite bath. A few hundred meters from the SH 10 away u hear nothing but wind, birds and cows. Pure tranquility. We stayed for 4 nights to avoid hostel changes every night and there is so much to do that a week's stay is possible without getting bored. Cape Reinga is within 1.5 hrs. drive. Their Rock Pools on the property worth the hike. The hospitality of Lindsey and Stefano is outstanding. Whole different level of hostelling. Expect no party but home cooked food, nice conversation, a well equipped kitchen for the ones that prefer to cook their own food. Join in if Stefano calls for a soccer game in KAHEO Stadium.
Date of stay: December 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
5.2 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View over Harbour from upstairs room.
Booking.com
$196
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $196
  • eDreams
    $196
  • Vio.com
    $196
5.6 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $136
  • Trip.com
    $159
5.7 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
$3,080
  • Booking.com
    $3,623
  • Trip.com
    $3,080
  • Hotels.com
    $3,261
21.9 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $170
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
30.5 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    $640
  • eDreams
30.4 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $176
  • eDreams
30.8 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free parking
Pool
Relax and cool off
Tripadvisor
$190
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $190
30.8 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Kerikeri Homestead Resort Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $235
30.8 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $180
30.9 km from Kahoe Farms Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kaeo
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
58
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
58
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whangaroa harbour homemade pasta stefano lindsay kitchen track
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2019

If you are touring Northland, be sure to include one or more nights' stay at Kahoe Farms in your itinerary. Owned and operated by friendly hosts Lyndsey & Stefano, my stay here turned out to be one of the highlights of my trip. Yes, the location is some distance away from buzzing town centres, but there are actually a lot of things to do here, from checking out the farm, hiking the Lane Cove track (only if you're fit enough), to driving along the very scenic Matauri Bay, just to give a few examples. You can also make this a base for visiting Cape Reinga and Ninety Mile Beach.

Although listed as a backpackers, the accommodation is actually a lovely house with only a few rooms (one of them is the dorm), so the feeling is more like a B&B (indeed, the breakfast is great - try the pancakes!). The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen is large and well-equipped enough to cook a feast. In the warmer months, I imagine they get busy so you would need to book ahead.

When the pasta/pizza dinner is on offer, take it - it's arguably the best Italian food you'll likely to get in many miles' radius. He's also a soccer fan and coaches the local team, so if you're into soccer this is a bonus point and you might even see a match if there's one on.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Beautiful hostel that is more like a 4* hotel! Stefano cooks the best Italian food that you can eat in the beautiful garden with views on the green rolling hills. The hosts offer a lot of interesting information about the area!
Quite far away from villages, but you do get the beautiful country side.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sannelars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

This was an incredible stay! Between the divine views and animals and the wonderful hospitality this was truly one of the highlights of the Northland for me.
Lyndsey and Stefano were so kind and welcoming and they have a very clean beautiful place.
I loved the adorable pigs and sheep. My only regret was only staying one night and not longer.
Many blessings to you guys!! Xx

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

I loved my stay at this hostel. Lynley is really welcoming and her husband Stefanie makes fabulous Italian pizza, which start at $23. It's a beautiful small hostel, with 3 private rooms and 1 dorm. The hostel is really clean and comfortable, with original features.
Lots to see and do in the area, but you do need a car. If you're lucky to get a clear night, you will see some an amazing night sky.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We loved our time at this hostel which was possibly our best value stay and most comfortable bed (private room) in our trip around NZ. Well worth planning Kahoe to be on your itinerary. The owners were so friendly and helpful, we arranged a bus trip to the Cape via them which was good value. The food we had cooked for us was delicious (pizza for dinner one night and pancakes for breakfast). Gorgeous homestead house with original wooden interiors were another delight.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tessa345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews