We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic burgers and chips”

The Old Saddlery Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Quick Bites in Kaeo
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 September 2020

Really great service from this little cafe on the main road. Staff went above and beyond to cater for gluten free, making me a gluten free burger to top most other burgers. Fresh ingredients, just the right amount of sauce, crispy chips, just right. They even offered to make me gluten free batter on the fish, and said the offer gluten free pizza bases as long as we come early for dinner. Will definitely be giving the pizza a try soon!

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank DreandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2020

Very friendly service and the pies are great. Crispy pastry and no soggy bottom! Plenty of filling. The steak and mushroom flavour was lovely.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank divalato
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

Had breakfast here on our way north. Amazing food and their claim for best coffee in town is true. Nice presentation and friendly genuine staff. Most authentic service we have seen in ages. Will come back for sure!

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank 1dani021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2019

Excellent selection of food. We had the fish & chips & couldn’t fault it - best have had! Very reasonably price & great friendly service. Was planning on going to Mangonui fish & chips but was too crowded. Can’t see that they would be better than this place & would certainly be a lot more expensive. Saw some getting the burgers & they also looked fantastic. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D5951JTsuew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

Simple food. Not a lot of choices in Kaeo but not bad for this little village. We had a fish and chips special and if was quite good. They do not accept credit cards.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Grady C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Old Saddlery Cafe also viewed

Whangaroa, Northland Region
 
Kaeo, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 

Been to The Old Saddlery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.