We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in The Bay of Islands”

Madhatters Donna's cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Kaeo
Price range: $5 - $19
Description: We are a little boutique café serving breakfast brunch lunch afternoon tea.with a wide range of sweets,scones,muffins .we do eggs bene,bacon and eggs,and our own burgers menu is evolving all the time.every thing is home made.made with love from the madhatters donnas café team
Restaurant details
Description: We are a little boutique café serving breakfast brunch lunch afternoon tea.with a wide range of sweets,scones,muffins .we do eggs bene,bacon and eggs,and our own burgers menu is evolving all the time.every thing is home made.made with love from the madhatters donnas café team
Reviewed 1 April 2023 via mobile

We were recently in the Bay of Islands helping out with a project at Kaeo school , after we had finished for the day we were looking for somewhere to have lunch when we saw Madhatters. What a find this place was. We were a group of 7 and although it was after 2pm and they were close to closing, they were so welcoming. The food was fabulous the service second to none and the coffee exceptional. The decor is quirky and full of character so if you ever find yourself in Kaeo check them out you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna Cornford, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2023

Why thankyou for your review. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2023

What a find. The home made cream donuts were out of this world. Crusty, cheesey and soft cheese scones, passionfruit slice par excellence. As for the waffles with banana - OMG!!! Great coffee and wonderful staff. Unique and colourful decor - definitely worth a look - and a laugh. Cannot recommend highly enough. 10/5.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lindamV536PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donna Cornford, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2023

Thankyou so much for your review. So glad you enjoyed your time with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2023 via mobile

We found this place by getting lost. What a wonderful find in the middle of nowhere. A brewing storm limited us to "cabinet food." It hit the spot. We left full, happy and with new friends.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2023

Thankyou for your review. We love making new friends. So glad you enjoyed your time with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2022 via mobile

My partner and I were on holiday and passed through Kaeo. Needed lunch, got a toasted sandwich each. Soooo good, three layers of I think rye bread, thick ham on bone and yummy cheese. Very filling.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2022

Thankyou so much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2021

Just stopped on the way to cape Regina for a caffeine hit, and to take a pic in the mad hatters chair :-)
We had a really beautiful coffee - smooth and delicious. We will stop again on the way back.
Also, thanks for chasing me down the street when I forgot my bag. Much appreciated

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Aisling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

Thankyou very much for your review. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us at madhatters Donnas cafe. You are most welcome about your bag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madhatters Donna's cafe also viewed

Whangaroa, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 
Kaeo, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 

Been to Madhatters Donna's cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.