We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee. Even better”

Madhatters Donna's cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Kaeo
Price range: $5 - $19
Description: We are a little boutique café serving breakfast brunch lunch afternoon tea.with a wide range of sweets,scones,muffins .we do eggs bene,bacon and eggs,and our own burgers menu is evolving all the time.every thing is home made.made with love from the madhatters donnas café team
Restaurant details
Description: We are a little boutique café serving breakfast brunch lunch afternoon tea.with a wide range of sweets,scones,muffins .we do eggs bene,bacon and eggs,and our own burgers menu is evolving all the time.every thing is home made.made with love from the madhatters donnas café team
Reviewed 21 January 2020 via mobile

Great coffee. Even better sausage rolls.
Fantastic little cafe in understated kiwi style.
Definitely worth stopping

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank roseandjmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2020

Unassuming little place - very low-key. But we had a great coffee and the best toasted sandwich ever!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Thankyou very much for your review I'm so happy you enjoyed your time ,coffee and toasted sandwich with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019

A good place to make a stop if heading North ot South on SH10 passing through Kaeo, far from the madding crowd this little gem of a cafe has a nice selection of freshly made snacks and beverages. Parking right outside, and next door a curio / antique shop. Need a break then stop here. Inexpensive and good food

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank JLNZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Thanks for your review I'm so happy you enjoyed your time at madhatters Donnas cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018

When we saw Donna's Cafe (it either no longer seems to be called the Madhatter's or we didn't notice it, possibly due to low blood caffeine levels when we arrived) we knew we had to stop there on our way to Whangaroa Harbour. The staff were lovely, and we had a great tea+coffee before we continued out to Whangaroa.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tuturiwhata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Thanks for your great review.yes it is still madhatters Donnas cafe. And it was our pleasure to serve new friends. Especially when you were suffering low blood caffeine levels. That is a serious affliction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

On our way to Cape Reinga we found this little cafe in the little town called Kaeo were a huge chair infront of the establishment caught our eye. The cup of joe was made with love as you could taste by a lady with a sunny smile. Recommended!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hanselaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Why thankyou. Definitely made with love

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madhatters Donna's cafe also viewed

Whangaroa, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 
Kaeo, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 

Been to Madhatters Donna's cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.