We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and delightful cafe”

Madhatters Donna's cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Kaeo
Price range: $5 - $19
Description: We are a little boutique café serving breakfast brunch lunch afternoon tea.with a wide range of sweets,scones,muffins .we do eggs bene,bacon and eggs,and our own burgers menu is evolving all the time.every thing is home made.made with love from the madhatters donnas café team
Restaurant details
Description: We are a little boutique café serving breakfast brunch lunch afternoon tea.with a wide range of sweets,scones,muffins .we do eggs bene,bacon and eggs,and our own burgers menu is evolving all the time.every thing is home made.made with love from the madhatters donnas café team
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

I was born in Kaeo and over the years have watched it go further and further into a slump. But bravo to the Mad Hatters Cafe - delightful decor, top quality coffee and delicious ginger crunch😀 Really friendly service too.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Cathcam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for your beautiful review.we wondered if we were doing the right thing opening a cafe in kaeo. But people like you let us know that we are.thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2017

Good, quality fresh food is prepared with the care that's also apparent in the arty interior decor the minute you walk into the Madhatters Donna's Cafe.

Great spot, very good food, excellent coffee. The very friendly fun crew have created an oasis with "food for the artistic side" as well as the gourmand within us.
Well worth visiting.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StevensSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Why thank you for your review.we have been found out.we love quirky madness.and we love great food.Good to know people appreciate both.thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Nice Mad Hatter's tea party theme inside and outside. Friendly & service minded owner and staff serving a kind of home style cafe food. I had the tasty bacon & egg roll with the local black pudding.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank seadragon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Why thank you for your review.we are glad you enjoyed your experience at madhatters.wethink there is a need for the old fashioned taste with a twist.see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Well back in Kaeo again with the whanau. Already commented on the coffee which is still just as good now we have tried the food and have to say yep its just as good.
Sandwiches are fresh, cakes are lovely, bacon & egg roll with black pudding - top notch with a coffee for the morning after a few beers and the meals themselves take some getting through very large servings of what we had for breakfast one morning, eggs benedict and the truck & trailer. We were in Keri and decided to wait till we headed back to eat which says it all.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkandDeborahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you so much we appreciate the feedback back keeps us on the right track.glad you enjoyed your meals as much as we love making them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Lovely friendly staff. Good food and coffee. A nice relaxing place to stop off at in the small town of Kaeo.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank retrosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Why thank you for your review.we are all mad here and love serving and meeting new people.hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madhatters Donna's cafe also viewed

Whangaroa, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 
Kaeo, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 

Been to Madhatters Donna's cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.