We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food as good as the coffee”

Madhatters Donna's cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Quick Bites in Kaeo
Price range: $5 - $19
Description: We are a little boutique café serving breakfast brunch lunch afternoon tea.with a wide range of sweets,scones,muffins .we do eggs bene,bacon and eggs,and our own burgers menu is evolving all the time.every thing is home made.made with love from the madhatters donnas café team
Restaurant details
Description: We are a little boutique café serving breakfast brunch lunch afternoon tea.with a wide range of sweets,scones,muffins .we do eggs bene,bacon and eggs,and our own burgers menu is evolving all the time.every thing is home made.made with love from the madhatters donnas café team
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Well back in Kaeo again with the whanau. Already commented on the coffee which is still just as good now we have tried the food and have to say yep its just as good.
Sandwiches are fresh, cakes are lovely, bacon & egg roll with black pudding - top notch with a coffee for the morning after a few beers and the meals themselves take some getting through very large servings of what we had for breakfast one morning, eggs benedict and the truck & trailer. We were in Keri and decided to wait till we headed back to eat which says it all.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkandDeborahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you so much we appreciate the feedback back keeps us on the right track.glad you enjoyed your meals as much as we love making them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017

Lovely friendly staff. Good food and coffee. A nice relaxing place to stop off at in the small town of Kaeo.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank retrosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Why thank you for your review.we are all mad here and love serving and meeting new people.hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

I'm Stewart & I dropped in to get a special coffee for a friend at gym, nothing was to much trouble. DÉCOR was tasteful, they made me feel welcome in manner, and showed interest in me the person. Service felt quick not rushed. To top it off of course Hillary loved her coffee. Anybody can give a coffee but giving a person warmth of welcome is the nicest touch. CONGRATULATIONS DONNA.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank omegastew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Why thank you for your review.you are special everyone that comes here is valued and is served to the best of our ability.we love meeting new people

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

lovely staff good service and happy spirts
its tucked away in small town kaeo on the way up north on your journeys you should definitely stop in

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Pjones444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Why thank you it is a pleasure to serve and meet new friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The cafe is just like the sign to Kaeo says, it is small but has a big spirit. A sunny smile, great coffee, a yummy cake and quirky decorations.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin582
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
991madhatter, Owner at Madhatters Donna's cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Why thank you we are all mad here hehe.we really appreciate your feedback and try our best to serve every one the tastiest home made food.we are glad you had a great experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madhatters Donna's cafe also viewed

Whangaroa, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 
Kaeo, Northland Region
Kaeo, Northland Region
 

Been to Madhatters Donna's cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.