We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Much needed break”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Davenport's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Davenport's Cottage
Open-plan living area with woodburning stove Open-plan living area with dining table (seats 6)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Welcome to Davenport's Cottage
Open-plan living area with woodburning stove
Open-plan living area with dining table (seats 6)
Master bedroom ensuite
Open-plan living area with kitchen in background
Twin room
Cottage with sunroom and large gravel outdoor area
Single room
Culdaff Bay
View from around cottage down to Culdaff Bay
Sea view within walking distance of the cottage
View of cliffs a short walk from the cottage
View of nearby headland
Sunrise from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Culdaff, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
madget
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Much needed break”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A stunning place and welcome. Homemade cookies,fresh eggs and lit fire greeted us. A blissful break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosie_Mat...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was a fantastic cottage tucked away just outside the village of Culdaff with beautiful views across to the beach. We were not only greeted with a warm welcome but also an extremely tasty homemade wheaten loaf and eggs from the family farm. The cottage itself was very cosy, clean and comfortable. There is also a pool table and table tennis table-perfect for those rainy Irish days. I would highly recommend both couples and families to stay here, we really had a brilliant time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the armchairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky S
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in stunning location!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The photos do not do justice to the cottage, it is beautiful! It is very comfortable, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean throughout and the rooms are larger than they appear in the photos. There are also some lovely sea views from the windows to the front and the surrounding area. Although small, the kitchen is well equipped and has everything you could need. Even though it is located on a working farm it is screened from the farm activities and is quite private. There is even a nearby games room with pool table and large table tennis table - this was an added bonus for us. Jennifer and Alan are both very friendly and welcoming and are close by if you need them but they do respect your privacy. Our booking was handled very professionally from the start and Jennifer has responded promptly to any of our queries. We recommend this cottage very highly and would love to return at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and the cleanliness.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly5
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real cosy cottage hideaway”
Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent the recent very cold Easter weekend here, but the welcome from the Norris's was warm and friendly and they kindly left us extra wood for the glorious fire. Lovely comfy beds and everything was spotlessly clean.
Best thing about Davenport's is the attention to detail, a real home from home, great master bedroom which is hotel standard. But, if like us, you like to be able to walk to the village and back this place will be too remote for you, although very scenic, it's at least 2 miles to the village on a quiet but dark road.
To sum up, a lovely place to cosy away from the cold March winds with a roaring fire and a bottle of wine, a great base for exploring the the local beaches and our teenage sons appreciated the free wifi, the pool table and table tennis. Just a 5 minutes drive to village and Culdaff beach, Jennifer and Alan both very hospitable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, comfort and overall presentation
Liked least: location - you will need a car to access the village and the beach
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArizonaDo...
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful cottage, in a breathtaking seaside location, tended by warm and caring people!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful 9 days at Davenport's Cottage. The cottage is a 200 year old home that has been completely remodeled. Though it is part of a small, quiet, working farm, it is 100% secluded from the farm activities. Now, we could easily be considered "picky" Americans when it comes to our accommodations, and this visit to Ireland was our first of many to come. In fact after we left Davenport's Cottage, we had a bad experience at a B&B in Dublin, and an annoying experience at the Airport Hilton, so Davenport's definitely set the bar and spoiled us!

What they don't tell you very much about the cabin is the views of the seaside cliffs, bays and fields. There is breathtaking beauty everywhere you look. You can look from the front windows down to the bay, or walk a few minutes down to the majestic seaside cliffs that border the property. We would walk with our coffee down and watch the waves crash on the rocks far below, and one evening we even saw a seal working his way around the rocks.

We were warmly greeted by the homeowner, Alan, and his daughter, when we arrived. The cottage was absolutely spotlessly clean, and a warm plate of fresh baked goodies welcomed us into the home. The home is extremely cozy as advertised, with both oil heat and a wood burning stove for the chilly nights. For your walks, there are two friendly and playful dogs that will accompany you, "free of charge", if you want.

The people around Culdaff, were also very welcoming and friendly. We recommend McGrory's Pub, which is within walking distance. I've listened to many a session of live Irish music in my life, but I heard the absolute best at McGrory's. That night, one of the bar's owners, John McGrory, was leading with the guitar, accompanied by an accordion, violin and mandolin and they sounded wonderful. Just when we thought it couldn't get better, in walks a group of teenage musicians, from Glasgow, Scotland, who throw their own accordion, violin, guitar and a harp! Twas like a celebration is HEAVEN!

We ultimately loved our stay in Inishowen, and we know it wouldn't have been as special had we stayed anywhere else. The cottage is nicely located near Culdaff, and several other towns, as well as Derry which is a short drive to the south. The price was incredibly reasonable, and well worth it!. We will definitely come back again, however, the we hope to stay much longer.

(Though it's a relatively simple trip from Culdaff to the cottage, I would recommend that before you go, use the Satellite/Streetview feature on Google Maps to view the driveway turnoff to the cottage, so it's easier to recognize it. Also, a GPS unit can be worth it's weight in gold if it's your first time driving in Ireland.)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything, price, scenery, location, property owners, etc.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing