We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic surprise”

Ristorante Gardesana
Reserve with
Ristorante Gardesana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$57 - US$113
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The "Gardesana" building has more than 500 years of history. It has been built by the Venetian Republic for the meetings of the Council of the Ten Communes of this side of the lake.After Napoleon, during the Austrian domination, until 1866, it had a dark period of decadence.At the end of the last century, it was transformed into a hotel and, in a few decades, it became the centre of culture, arts and good cuisine.In the last fifty years, it has been preferred by famous personages like: Beniamino Gigli, Toti Dal Monte, Angelo Dall'Oca Bianca, André Gide, Stephen Spender, Vivien Leigh, Lawrence Olivier, Maria Callas, Luis Trenker, Dino Risi, Ugo Tognazzi and Vittorio Gassman.In 1980 the building was bought by Mr. & Mrs. Lorenzini. They continued, with enthusiasm, the improvement of the hotel and restaurant in order to satisfy their distinguished guests.
Reviewed 5 September 2018

My husband and myself found this restaurant by chance.
What a find. We had a really memorable experience. Duilio Barbato was so welcoming on our arrival and very helping in choosing a wine. Would highly recommend a visit to this restaurant if you are in area. The orientation of the restaurant overlooking the water, the staff and not least the food all added to a wonderful evening on a wet evening.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KillianDavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

We dined at this restaurant last week, at the start of our holiday, based on the TripAdvisor reviews, and were not disappointed.

The restaurant sits on a balcony overlooking the tiny harbour at Torri Del Benaco, with views across the lake.

The staff were lovely, and their service was kind and impeccable.

The food was exceptional, with consistent quality across every single course, which is not always the case, even at really good restaurants.

We especially enjoyed the rose wine & prawn risotto, which came with a blue cheese ice cream, and the chocolate sorbet with nut mousse.

I enjoyed my steak, and my wife loved the lamb chops with rosemary and black garlic.

Even the bread basket and the amuse bouche were top notch.

We'd heartily recommended Ristorante Gardenesa to anyone who fancies a spot of fine dining in the Torri Del Benaco area.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is a more formal setting and modern style of dining than may appeal to everyone, but our party of 5 thought the quality of food was excellent and that the pace and cheerfulness of the service was perfect. We would definitely recommend it for a special/final meal in Torri.
We particularly enjoyed the scallop starter and lamb main course. The dolci/desserts were inventive, delicious and beautiful.
We were unable to obtain a balcony table when booking on the same day, so book at least 1 day ahead in peak season.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BradyCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a fantastic meal here during our stay in Torri Del Benaco.

Amazing food and first class customer service.

Would definitely return when next in Torri.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Just completed a week stay in in Torri. We visited the Bistro Section of the Gardesana for evening drinks on the first night and loved it. We tried other places for variety but after a few more nights decided that this was clearly the best place to come if a relaxed evening drink in town was what you wanted. Yes, the location is wonderful by the port but, for us, it was Giacomo, his warmth and welcoming smile and the quality of his service that really made a difference. He made the difference between relaxing at a wonderful location and having a wonderful evening. I took the time to tell him so before we left. I hope more do

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank paddyenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Gardesana also viewed

Torri del Benaco, Province of Verona
Costermano, Province of Verona
 
Torri del Benaco, Province of Verona
Torri del Benaco, Province of Verona
 
Gardone Riviera, Province of Brescia
Malcesine, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante Gardesana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing