We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
187
56
6
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
187
56
6
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location indoor pool tennis courts dishwashing liquid great facilities gold coast sauna apartment units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We rented a superior beach front apartment which was on the 11th floor. Just across the road from the beach and not really "Beach Front" as the name implies.
Well worth the extra few $$ compared with either the lower floors or the garden view apartments. If you are not aware, Main beach goes forever and the "flagged" areas to swim are quite a distance apart. Sunbird is right opposite a swimming area so its a quick stroll to get there. If you were , say half way between flagged areas it would be an extra 10 minute walk.
The apartment we had (11A) was clean and had all the utensils needed, just a couple of little points that were annoying. No free wi-fi I could not believe they charged $10 a day or $30 a week. as we were there for 4 nights it was a pain. Also the supply of toilet paper . They say they only give a "starter" amount ie 1 roll in each toilet, however the guest info book says complimentry TP. Again for a say 2 week stay it would be OK to buy a big lot at supermarket, but again a 4 day stay is just the wrong timing for such things. I managed to beg a couple of more rolls from reception though so all was not lost.
There is a nice coffee shop just a few minutes walk away and a whole lot of small shops, Liquor Land and restaurants about 10 minutes walk.

We also made the mistake of booking a Uber ride to the airport when leaving. Did not turn up at requested time and phoned 14 minutes later when we were already in a Gold Coast cab which arrived 3 minutes after booking. Uber communications are non existent so beware.

Room tip: Go for the superior beach front 11th floor was good, high enough for spotting whales but not too high. over 14th floor would be too high
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul_in_Dubbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harold W, Manager at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you Paul_in_Dubbo for your review.
We are new Managers here and working through some issues left for us.
Wi-Fi is now free and we have arranged for a new Wi-Fi system to be installed in February 2017 which will have full unlimited coverage in all units.
We have also increased the amount of Guests supplies including 2 rolls of toilet paper per bathroom.
We operate Self Catering, Self Contained apartments which requires the Guests to buy their ongoing supplies, however, additional supplies are available at Reception as you have noted.
We have rectified many issues here and hope to see you on a return visit.
Regards
The Sunbird Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

A truely great experience, Thanks so much for having us,
We took a 4yo and a 1yo and the facilities were amazing, our room faced the beach and we couldnt be happier the sun woke us up the main beach is amazing

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECBH2481
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harold W, Owner at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thank you Byron b for your review.
The kids had a great time in the pool and at the beach.
Hope to see you back soon.
Best regards
Harold, Joan & Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Stayed at Sunbird it will be our go to from now on when staying on the Gold Coast.
The building has amazing ocean views fantastic apartments. Really enjoyed Main Beach much quieter than Surfers Paradise. Can't wait to come back on our next holiday.

Room tip: We stayed in a superior room and it was amazing.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cavara40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harold W, Owner at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thank you Cavara40 for the review and we look forward to your return visit.
Harold, Joan and Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Usually stay in Surfers Paradise but decided we have had enough of the party crowd so went to Sunbird in Main Beach.
Location is excellent, right on the beach road. 50 meters to a great coffee shop where we had breakfast and Seven Eleven and Subway next door. Walk to the ritzy Tedder Avenue restraunts, so much better than Surfers which is close enough to walk to, but far enough away for some peace and quiet. Kids loved it.
Sunbird has everything we needed, indoor and outdoor pools and spas, Full tennis court and squash court. Units are 2 bedroom 2 bathroom, very clean and spacious with great views. New Managers there this week doing a great job.
Will definitely return to Sunbird next trip.

Room tip: Superior rooms worth the small extra charge,
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank harro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harold W, Owner at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you Harro79 for your review.
Glad to hear that you will be making Sunbird your go to place here on the Gold Coast for your family holidays.
Regards
The Sunbird Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We stayed based on reviews but our apartment was nothing that appears in published photos. Our apartment was dark, carpets worn, kitchen utensils/toaster/kettle etc..was old and needed a good clean. Decor was like staying at 'Granma's place'.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harold W, Manager at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

*** NEW MANAGERS FROM NOVEMBER ***
Thank you for your review.
We apologise for not meeting your expectations during your stay here at Sunbird Beach Resort. We have just taken over and currently going through all of the apartments to ensure that they meet and exceed our standards. We have noticed that a couple of apartments do require work, including the one you stayed in, and we will be immediately taking these out of the Holiday letting pool until the Owners get them up to the same standard as all of our other apartments, which are great.
Please contact us and advise which apartment you were in so that we can take the appropriate action. Please be assured that this is a priority for us and we would welcome the opportunity to host you in one of our best apartments, should you consider booking here again.
Thank you again for your review.
Regards
Harold
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews