We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous surroundings and Food”

Miaflora Cafe and Garden Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Winchester
Description: Miaflora Cafe and Garden Centre is a cafe and garden centre on state highway one in Winchester south island NZ. The cafe is in the beautiful house known locally as Kavanagh house The house has been beautifully decorated with ornate ceiling, chanderliers and wallpaper, it is surrounded by beautiful gardens adorned with local and international sculptures. Here you can wander through the gardens have breakfast or lunch in the cafe or gardens overlooking the tranquil stream. All meals are cooked to order by our in house chef and the sweet selection changes daily.It has a well stocked garden centre and gift shop with all you need for your gardening and gift needs. The cafe is run by John a pastery chef and the Garden cente is run by Bruce an international award winning nurseryman. Come and see what everone is talking about
Restaurant details
Description: Miaflora Cafe and Garden Centre is a cafe and garden centre on state highway one in Winchester south island NZ. The cafe is in the beautiful house known locally as Kavanagh house The house has been beautifully decorated with ornate ceiling, chanderliers and wallpaper, it is surrounded by beautiful gardens adorned with local and international sculptures. Here you can wander through the gardens have breakfast or lunch in the cafe or gardens overlooking the tranquil stream. All meals are cooked to order by our in house chef and the sweet selection changes daily.It has a well stocked garden centre and gift shop with all you need for your gardening and gift needs. The cafe is run by John a pastery chef and the Garden cente is run by Bruce an international award winning nurseryman. Come and see what everone is talking about
Reviewed 10 July 2020 via mobile

We had s lunch during winter off season. The food was lovely and well priced, the star of the show was Lemon Tart. It was not too sweet, citrus zingy and very flavorful.

The cafe is in the most beautiful house, and the Los are to die for. Walk around the gardens afterwards, and check out the plants and gifts for sale too.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank amazinggrace2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2020

Called in here 3 years ago and went looking for it again this trip. Only had coffees but they were great. Atmosphere and staff (owners) top notch. Well worth a visit just to see the gardens and the decor inside this beautiful old house. We'll be back.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2020 via mobile

The beautiful setting for this cafe makes a visit into a treat. While there wasn't a big range of cabinet food for a quick snack there are reasons to slow down and enjoy the hospitality of fantastic gardens and a beautiful old villa, along with good service.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Ezra710
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile


After many years of driving past this amazing old home we finally stopped in for morning tea (between Oamaru and Christchurch) and it was very well worth it

Good coffee, beautiful surrounds, friendly people and lovely treats including GF nut cake, caramel cake and mouse cake.

Well worth a stop.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 891duncanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2020

We've been to this gem of a cafe several times over the years and every visit has been nothing short of a delightful experience.
The food, pastries and cakes(!), coffee and chai latte (our usual eats!) are excellent, staff are always welcoming and friendly, and the al fresco dining experience is out of this world. We had a table by a wee stream surrounded by beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers and song birds.
We will definitely dine here (or even just a cuppa) when we are around the neighbourhood and, pick up some plants and garden art for our garden too!

Jen & Mo
Twizel

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HisHumbleOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Been to Miaflora Cafe and Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.