We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Waipara
from US$123.79
More Info
from US$68.77
More Info
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
64
28
12
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
28
12
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting pinot gris seafood platter cellar door pork belly vineyard tour knowledgeable host well worth the visit great place to visit new zealand house platter jude christchurch eq nzd5 session wheel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

After a disappointing start we had lovely meal in cafe , the service & food beautiful as well as setting , shame about old lady doing tastings needs to retire totally uninterested in promoting wines , area or even selling us any wine not that she even asked i generally always buy after tastings , after waiting to start the tasting we experienced the worst wine tasting ever, big call but working in vineyards in past i was disappointed with her lack of interest & enthusiasm towards the lovely wines,should've just left wine out for us to taste ourselves no info about wine other than pick what you want of tasting sheet real shame as rest of experience was lovely & relaxing cafe staff very friendly & helpful

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Kirstchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Disappointed with the wine tasting woman,she barely acknowledged us and when she served us was totally disinterested with no enthusiasm or imparting of wine knowledge as is generally the case when wine tasting.
Luckily the cafe made it worth the trip from Christchurch wonderful meal and lovely friendly staff a real contrast to the wine celler.

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank 9jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Mid week lunch with the family. Waited to be seated for 2-3 minutes. Asked to sit outside where we could see several tables. Told we could only sit inside. So we sat inside. Next party to arrive we’re shown to one of the outside tables. Why was this I asked? Blank looks on the waitgirls face. Why does anyone running a place like this think lying to your customers is ever a good idea.
Don’t bother with these amateurs. Drive on.

There are plenty of other good places around.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank O6679HLscottk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Waipara Hills is a quiet and attractive venue for lunch, or even if you only seek a coffee or bottle of well - crafted local wine.
The views from the dining area encompass the vines and Teviotdale Hills.
Staff are attentive and the menu offers a good range of fare. Prices are average for this class of winery and not extortionate!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank WorldWideKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaiparaHills, Manager at Waipara Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to write a kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Most helpful & informative counter lady. Beautiful surroundings. Some good wines. Especially the Rose. Lovely light meals. Great gift selection. Definitely put this one on the wine trail.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank foodthatsings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews