We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Daniel R
Bethel, Connecticut
Clean, tidy, comfortable.
Review of Phoenix Motels
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Nov 2023via mobile
We were looking for a place in Timaru and all were sold out so stayed at the Phoenix in Temuka instead. Clean and tidy. Good value for money. Easy to find. Comfortable bed. Had a kitchen as well. Not sure we could have asked for more! We’d stay here again.
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.1 km from Phoenix Motels
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Phoenix Motels
Lovely big studio room
Booking.com
$166
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $166
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Expedia.com
    $165
16.6 km from Phoenix Motels
Free parking
Booking.com
$94
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $94
  • eDreams
    $94
  • ZenHotels.com
16.7 km from Phoenix Motels
Free parking
Anchor Motel
Booking.com
$113
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $113
  • Vio.com
    $102
  • Hotels.com
    $112
16.8 km from Phoenix Motels
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $138
  • Hotels.com
    $139
16.8 km from Phoenix Motels
Free parking
The view from the lounge room window.
Booking.com
$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $130
  • Agoda.com
16.8 km from Phoenix Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$97
  • Priceline
    $97
  • Agoda.com
16.8 km from Phoenix Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
view from my room
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Priceline
16.9 km from Phoenix Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$154
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $154
  • Vio.com
    $154
  • eDreams
    $154
16.9 km from Phoenix Motels
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Temuka
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
38
16
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
38
16
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2023

We stopped in here for one night and business.

The room was clean comfortable and had everything you would need. The parking was easy and it is a short walk to restuarants and town.

The only thing we had a problem with was the road noise. I am not sure if all rooms would be as bad but ours was on the second floor and facing the main road. Others may be used to this but we aren't and it did interfer with our sleep. Apart from the noise it was a good place to stay and well located.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cheezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2022

Beds were super comfy and our 2 bedroom room was huge! great for young children with plenty of space inside and the lawn right out the back door.
Motel is the cleanest I have ever seen and was great that the room got refreshed when we were out. The owner was great to us and showed my husband to our room plus turned on the heater which was awesome when we were getting in late at night.
We hardly noticed the traffic on Sunday morning but was a bit louder on Saturday - nothing some ear plugs can't fix. We will definitely be choosing to stay at the phoenix motel again.

Date of stay: October 2022
Thank Cromwell778
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2020

We stayed here as a large group and were very pleased. It is very clean, rooms well appointed with all the amenities you should need. Some rooms a bit noisy with the traffic, but really not a major consideration. We would definitely return.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BeenAroundAwhile22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2020 via mobile

Great accommodation but the location is pretty grey. Friendly host. Modern, clean facilities. Rates are a bit high for the location relative to cities where due to Covid hotels are competing on price.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Hatepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2019

Very nice well appointed rooms. Great bed and small kitchenette. Only gripe would be if you are on the ground floor and the person on top floor start the spa bath the droning noise is very load. Next time i will ask for a 2nd story room

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 411wayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PhoenixMotels, Manager at Phoenix Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2019

Thank you for you feed back. I am sorry that the noise from the spa bath was annoying. I have not been told about this before. I do not know if there is anything we can do about it but I will definitely look into the problem We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews