We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,853)
Filter reviews
1,853 results
Traveller rating
1,504
297
41
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,504
297
41
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath mt cook bedroom apartment unobstructed view excellent accommodation views of the mountains underfloor heating the kitchen great place to stay comfortable bed would definitely stay here again great room new zealand cooking facilities great view stayed longer south island
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,853 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ended up staying in an Executive room as all the cheaper rooms at the motel (in the whole area) were fully booked.
Yes, it was very expensive, but oh my goodness, the view from our room was absolutely fantastic, overlooking the snow capped mountains and grassy valley below.
Our room was extremely spacious, spotlessly clean and very well appointed.
Would highly recommend.
And treat yourself to the Exec room with a view!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Chutey

Many thanks for you review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time here with us in Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stellar view to look out and see Mt. Sefton from the room! Decently stocked kitchen that worked to cook our meals. It was clean and the spa tub was a really nice way to relax. An afternoon at the Edmund Hillary Alpine Center watching the series of short films worked well to fill a rainy afternoon. The Motel is in an ideal location and was within a 10 min drive of most of the day hike trails.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi David K

Cheers for your review.
Sounds like you had a great time.....
safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is a small motel operation with maybe 30 rooms in a little complex with most rooms facing the mountains.

My room directly faced towards Mount Cook which was great.

It isn't a fancy place, but is nice and quite new with everything that you would need for your time there.

The motel next door has decent pub style food with a view.

In the room they have Freeview tv which is sufficient, i believe it is what you can get through some service called freeview for free.

The bed was decent for sleep as well.

On a warm day the room may be an issue as there is no air conditioning, just heating. There is a sliding glass door to allow some additional ventilation.

I guess the last thing is I found it fairly costly for a room here, considering it is a motel and not a hotel. Not sure if part of that is extra cost being actually in the national park or if it is just supply and demand and you ask for what you can get.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Cheers Daniel P for your review.

You have covered many points, this helps in others deciding where to book and what to do.....
thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

When our agent put us in a motel I was little skeptical at first, but it actually turned out to be one of my favorite rooms of all the 5 accommodations we stayed in while travelling throughout New Zealand! The room was very spacious and had a gorgeous view of the mountain ranges. The bathroom was small, but had an oversize shower/tub which seemed a bit luxurious for a motel! There was a small kitchen with a fridge, sink, etc. There's a cafe real close by which was convenient. Other than that, if you didn't rent a car, you'd have to walk to the Hermitage Hotel for other restaurants, to go to the visitor center, etc. It was only about a 10 minute walk, so it wasn't too bad. But over all, a great experience and I'd highly recommend this motel!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Stephanie H

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodation and all the village had to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Aoraki Motel is Clean, comfortable and convenient to the hiking tracks. we appreciated the laundry and the convenience of parking right by our room. We had a Great view and the property is quiet. The room was spotless and the shower had good pressure.

Room tip: Room 26 has an amazing mountain view.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konavacationhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

cheers konavacationhome
We are pleased you enjoyed your time here with us...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews