We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
10teresaj
Garden City, Idaho

Spectacular views and fantastic staff!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jun 2024via mobile
The staff was amazing - only to be outdone by the views. My daughter and I stayed in a 2 bed room. From our balcony, it felt as if you could reach out and touch the mountains. The food at the Alpine buffet was fantastic and the cocktails were delicious! We did the stargazing experience and it was well worth it. I under packed for the winter weather so was very grateful that they had blankets and extra parkas to use. The stargazing guides were well informed and made the experience interesting and comfortable. We also enjoyed the Sir Edmund Hillary museum. We were only there one night and wish we had stayed longer.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Pay attention to the pre-check in information. Do NOT take your bags to checkin.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
飯店外觀
$335
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $312
  • Vio.com
    $259
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
$308
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $317
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $157
20.0 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $725
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free parking
Restaurant
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
0.8 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
The Snowline Bar.
$467
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $467
  • Hotels.com
    $467
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free parking
Restaurant
$108
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $108
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Hotels.com
    $108
30.2 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lodge
$180
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Hotels.com
    $180
30.3 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $122
  • Vio.com
    $115
  • Priceline
    $125
30.3 km from Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki/mount Cook
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Reviews (3,025)
Filter reviews
3,025 results
Traveller rating
1,056
1,033
589
220
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,056
1,033
589
220
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium room a la carte alpine restaurant mount cook buffet dinner new zealand aoraki wing wakefield wing top floor buffet style the main hotel sir edmund hillary hotel room glacier explorers amazing views gift shop stargazing tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 3,025 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2024

Amazing, everchanging views from our room, staff were VERY helpful and courteous, wheelchair was provided for my husband, the meals were FANTASTIC: the variety, different cuisines, quantity and quality were second to none. Views from the dining room were fabulous

Room tip: Over the winter months, go to dining room early enough to enjoy the last of the mountain views before it gets dark
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hetty456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2024

Great place to stay in Aoraki / Mt Cook village. I got a standard queen room -- room was a little small, but that was more than made up for by the AMAZING view from the balcony of Aoraki / Mt Cook and the whole valley. The hotel stay is worth it for the view alone.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kd1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2024

On a recent three week South Island road trip, we looked ahead at the weather forecast and it looked like Mt Cook would have clear blue skies for a few days. So on a whim I phoned and booked us into a Premium Plus Super King room on the “Stay Two” package deal with dinner and breakfast included, for two nights. I’ve never paid that much for a hotel room in my life. But guess what…it was worth every cent.

We arrived in the afternoon of our first day, and the checkin process was quick and easy. We went to our room (914) on the 9th floor of the Aoraki Wing (second to top floor). Our carpark was out the back, and the concierge at the back entrance offered to help us with our bags, but we were okay. We got to our room and immediately all thoughts of the money it had cost disappeared. The view was absolutely superb Not a cloud in the sky. The bed was arranged with our feet facing the window so we could easily look out at the mountain lying in bed.

We were booked into dinner in the Alpine Restaurant at 5.30pm. We got there and were greeted by the very friendly staff, and shown to our table. The meal was buffet style, and there was everything you could ever wish for. It was really lovely. The chef sliced the beef for us, and some ham. Beautiful food. The carrots, cauliflower gratin and roast pumpkin were really tasty. We managed some dessert which was also very very nice, and a huge choice. Up until it got dark it was a lovely view of the mountains through the dining room windows. The second night’s dinner was just as lovely,

We got up early each morning and took some photos of the sun touching on Mt Cook for the first time that day. Magic. We went down to breakfast about 7.15am, there’s no booking time taken for brekkie, it’s just roll up when you wish. Once again a lovely buffet meal with heaps of choices. The chef cooked my egg for me exactly as I like it (hard in the centre) because all the eggs were cooked soft. Very nice of him.

The bed was a super king, and super comfortable. The only (very small) gripe I have is that there is no table, just a bench acting as the bedhead, and a tall stool. I found the stool wasn’t very comfortable when I was wanting to use my laptop, but to be honest it didn’t matter one iota as everything else was just perfect.

The entire staff, from reception to the concierge, to the waiting staff in the restaurant and the ladies in the gift shop, and the chefs, were all super professional yet friendly.

Would I stay there again at that price? You betcha!! Highly recommended, don’t think of the money, just do it. Though best to make sure of the weather forecast before you go…it wouldn’t be so good if it were covered in cloud. We were very lucky to have three days of clear skies.

Thank you to all the staff who looked after us. A 12 out of 10 mark for our stay.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2024 via mobile

Awesome friendliness of staff, clean comfortable accommodation, extraordinary dining and to top it all off, a great walk up the Hooker Valley track in the mist, rain, wind and sun . NOT TO BE MISSED ❤️. First time here but definitely will not be the last

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Wanderer21751789315
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2024 via mobile

We had a 3 night stay to celebrate our anniversary. The staff went out of their way to give us a fantastic time and I think we got the best room in the hotel!
We were given preference for window tables in the restaurants and reminded when we slept in on the first day mot to miss our included breakfast. We were lucky with the weather on 2 out of 3 days and rewarded with stunning top floor views of Mt Cook.

Room tip: Stay for at least 3 days to enjoy the hiking , views and boat trips
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews